Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Not long enough
Written on Sunday, Oct. 19, 2003 at 9:57 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

All I can say about my little respite at home was that it was not long enough. I could totally deal with another week or so of just lounging at home, sleeping in my VERY soft bed...Oh man, I'd gotten so used to this rock-hard mattress at uni that when I first sat down on my bed at home, I exclaimed, "Oh my god! It's so soft!" It was practically orgasmic. I love that bed. If it wasn't a full-sized bed, I'd cart it up here with me next year when Kristen and I move into an apartment. But I guess it's better that I leave it at home.

Did I mention in a previous entry that Tim had a woman over at his apartment the other night? Mom returned a call he'd made (either that day or the day before), and a woman picked up the phone. Mom got suspicious (as mothers do), thinking that maybe this was a secret woman of Geoff's (heehee), so when Tim hurriedly snatched the phone away from said woman Mom was like, "You'd better not hurt my little girl." He repeatedly assured that the woman was his friend, not Geoff's.

So anyway, I called up Geoff on Thursday night when I got home, and at some point made a glib remark about Tim havin' a woman over. Geoff didn't know what I was talking about. And I when he said something to Tim, Tim pretended he didn't know what was going on. So Geoff's response to me? "Is [your mom] on crack?"

Oh man, it's a good thing we were on the telephone, so he couldn't see my eyes narrow. Geoff is very muleheaded in the "I'm right, you're wrong" area. One could say that ALL men are like that, but Geoff just doesn't get sometimes that maybe he's wrong. I don't tend to run into this problem with him very often, but yeah...gets me a little irritated when he comes out and says stuff like that. He has a tendency to be mildly waspish on occasion, though that happens very infrequently too. However, that happened right at the beginning of our conversation and I was exhausted as it was, so I really didn't feel like talking to him anymore. Therefore, after about 10 minutes (if that), I said that I was tired and was going to bed. He asked if I wanted to do anything on Friday night (because he was hanging out with his other friend on Saturday), so I just said yeah and left it at that.

As Amanda pointed out, he and I seem to have zipped right past the dating/marriage/having kids stages and gone straight for the "old married couple" stage. All we did on Friday was watch TV. It was kinda cute at one point, because he looked at me and said "You get to sit on a rose-colored couch and watch old music videos" (read the end of this if you're confused...I said that to him later, I didn't let him read the diary, hehe)...anyway, I was still kinda eh about him, so I didn't even care that all we did was sit there. By the end of the night (which was after 2 am, hehe), I had finally slumped over to my left and was tempted to rest my head on the pillow he'd tucked against his right side, but I refrained. He asked if I wanted to stay the night or just go home in the morning, and while I said I didn't care, inside I was hoping that he'd take me home anyway. It would've been different had I been able to stay home for more than a few nights, but I wanted to sleep in my comfy bed as long as possible!

He did drive me home, after giving me four more tapes of music. Tim had bought a scrapbooking magazine for me, and so I left feeling as though we'd just had an early Christmas. I guess I'll end up seeing Geoff again at Thanksgiving...or in early November when I have to go back for my dermatologist appointment.

Let me just say that if that doctor can find a way to make my hair grow all thick and beautiful again, I will go back and kiss his feet. Seriously. He'd be a saint in my eyes. You can't imagine how depressed I am about my hair (unless, of course, you're suffering from the same thing).

Anyway, Mom and I went out shopping yesterday and...well, I got another plant. X_X It's a "Christmas cactus" as some people call them (or "Zygo cactus"), but I couldn't resist because it has these gorgeous silky white blooms (with a hint of pink). Mom has a big cactus at home that we got from my great-grandmother, but it hasn't bloomed in...yeesh, it's been years. I like this sort of cactus, though, because it's not really a cactus...well, not in the conventional sense. It's not covered in pricklies, and it looks more like a leafy plant than anything else. But it's pretty. I'm not sure what to name it yet, but I was kind of leaning toward Savannah. :P Still, the tag says these things come from Brazil, so it ought to have a more tropical name. And then Rico will have a companion, hehe...

I got some more scrapbooking supplies, I brought my posters back with me, I bought a Christmas present for Amanda (oooo, I'm going to make her wonder what it is now!)...and yeah, I still wish I was at home. My friends are the only reason I haven't gone completely insane. How will it be next semester when I'm taking 18 credits? Well, I'll have 4 weeks off before I have to worry about that (though of course, all the classes I wanted to take are closing quickly)...

I also know what I'm getting Geoff for Christmas now, hee hee! I was surprised it's still being sold, actually. I didn't figure it was popular enough to still be sold, but I saw it, so I'm getting it. I just hope he doesn't have a copy already... :

I need to get my wisdom teeth pulled. They're starting to crowd against my back molars, and I've been having some good old-fashioned toothaches lately. But after Laura's horror story, I'm a little leery about getting it done! I was hoping she'd have good stories to tell, LOL! Well, not GOOD, because what's good about getting things ripped out of your mouth? But something along the lines of, "Oh, it wasn't all that bad" would have been better...and I think she'd have to agree on that, since she was the one going through it! ;)

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!