Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Another heapin' helpin'
Written on Thursday, Oct. 16, 2003 at 12:20 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Under pain of death, I've been ordered by Amanda to write a diary entry. Seee, Lola, you're not the only one with fans. *giggles* 'Course, mine are only friends, so it's not quite the same thing as having fans you don't know..but still. It makes me feel popular. ;)

Ha ha, guess what happened in French! The professor passed around a sheet and told us to pick a partner and pick a time on either Friday or Monday that we could take our exam! Katie turned to me before I'd even realized what was going on and said, "Partner?" So it was settled. :P Monday at 1:30, she and I will be chatting to each other in the odious company of our professor. But hey, it cleared up my Friday! So the only obstacle left to me was my Phi Sig Pi activity tomorrow night, which I'd completely forgotten about. Yeah, there was also the small matter of my work-study job, but Michael was cool about me leaving.

Thankfully, I was allowed out of the thingy tomorrow night, so Mom's coming up here at 2 o'clock and I'll be going home for the weekend! Definitely need this break, even though it'll only be for 2 days (2 full days, anyway). I can't wait to sleep in my cozy bed, and see my little Hannibal...Oh shite, I have no idea who'll feed my poor Antoinette! I'll have to ask Cathy if she could come in once a day and do it. I trust her...and she's the RA, so I wouldn't even have to give her my key!

I went to the play last night that Kevin's in, and I'm so glad I did. I have not been overly impressed by any of the productions I've seen here thus far, but this play is good. The set is perfectly done, the actors are all actually good for once (except for one of the "stars" of the department, who couldn't do an Irish accent--or keep it--to save his ass...and he was the lead!)...it's just great. And even though Kevin's part was so small that he was only onstage about twice, he had some great lines. Even Josh was good, and he was horrible in "Peter Pan" last year! I'd definitely go again if I had the opportunity. I wish I did, because I didn't get to take any pictures...except one of the set!

I had to stick around the TV station tonight because the new girl needed help. Last week, she just stood around and watched me film the news, so she really didn't know what to do. I had planned to just give her a quick overview in the hour before the news so that I could get away for my Phi Sig Pi stuff. But she was really really nervous, and by the time I thought I had her mostly situated it was almost 7 o'clock. Therefore, I just stuck around and hung out right by her in case she had any questions. Meanwhile, Floor Director Chris kept leaning over to swipe at my hand with his pen, so now I have numerous scribbles on the back of my left hand. :P Even Quiet Boy (aka Tom) was a little more outgoing than usual! That's not saying much, because he is SO phenomenally quiet, but that's probably why I noticed his outgoingness so much more. Maybe he's finally starting to feel comfortable.

I felt all important for some stupid reason, being able to just hover around like someone who knows what she's doing. :P Next semester, I'm definitely trying for floor director. Half the time, I end up doing Chris's job anyway so I think I could swing it! I want to be able to make the "1 minute" and "wrap it up" signs, hehehe...If I was able to, I'd LIKE to literally start from the bottom and work up to the control room. So I'm doing camera this semester, and then next semester I want to do floor director. Then I'd try audio, because that's half prep-on-the-set and half maintain-audio-levels-from-control-room...and then tech director, and then finally director. Let's see, how many semesters is that, if I was only able to do one each time...Okay, 4. So that takes me up to my fall semester of senior year. But I'd like to think that by next year, they'd let me learn other things at the same time that I'm doing my main job.

Sorry, I'm just "talking out loud" to myself.

Our activity tonight was some kind of "Disability Game". The 10 of us each had a different disability, and we had to help each other out to compensate. Meanwhile, we also had to stay connected to each other at all times, meaning we had to have at least one hand touching the person in front of us. One girl couldn't use her arms, so they were duct-taped to her sides. Another girl could only use one arm, so her other one was taped down. Yet another couldn't really use her legs, so she was duct-taped around the knees. The other disabilities were: broken back (can only shuffle, can't use arms or turn head), broken neck, blind, mute, deaf, deaf and mute, and then mine...which was "straight leg" or something like that. I couldn't bend my legs. Hey, I thought, this ought to be pretty easy.

Hehe. Not. Try going up stairs--or better yet, DOWN stairs--without bending your legs. It wasn't so easy. Going up hills was a pain, because I could only shuffle. There were times when I really looked like a penguin, hehe! But it was cool, I think we all had fun...though it was weird not being able to talk to everyone!

Tomorrow is the "mid-semester" vote, where our initiate advisor goes in front of all the brothers and tells them how we're doing as a group and also how we're doing individually...then I guess they give yes's and no's for certain things. I won't be there for that, and I'm so afraid I'm going to get no's! They said not to get all worked up about it, because it's just letting us know what to work on, but still! I take those things too personally sometimes. I won't find out 'til Monday what they said about me, but I'd rather get my news at the same time as everyone else!

Anyway, my eyes are burning and it's late, so I guess I ought to get to bed. Actually, I need to pack. Blast! I forgot all about that! Well, at least it's just a measly amount of stuff; I don't need to pack for more than a few days!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!