Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Unexpected outings!
Written on Tuesday, Nov. 30, 2004 at 3:07 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

I've noticed that many of my entries tend to begin with "so". I need to try and kick that habit. :P

I thought I'd mentioned the story here, but for my non-LJ peeps, I'm going to have to start from the beginning so you understand what's going on. ;) If I DID actually mention this somewhere, then just consider me old and senile, and move on. Anyway, so in my Rock History class several weeks ago, the professor stepped aside and started letting this other guy--a student in the class--teach. This really grated on me, because it wasn't as though the guy was just teaching a class...nooo, he was teaching the next four chapters! Nice to know we have a competent professor, eh? And this 'kid' seemed so pompous and whatnot, too.

But he's a huuuuuge Classic Rock fan. And I think one of the biggest things that attracts me to people is music. I really am a snob when it comes to music, and I've said several times before to people that I'd never be able to get in a relationship with someone who didn't like the same music I did. Doesn't that seem silly? I know it is, but at the same time...the idea of hanging around someone who's blaring rap all day just makes me shudder. I can deal with people having different interests than mine, but when it comes to music...no go. Friendships are fine (LOL...I can just see myself having an army of friends who only listen to the same kind of music), but anything more than that...well anyway. That was a tangent. The point of this paragraph was supposed to be that his musical tastes eventually made my opinion turn around. Somewhat.

I emailed the professor one day to complain about all the editorializing going on in class, and that I think this guy (George...lol, sorry, never mentioned his name before) should play a certain song that he was saying he wasn't planning on playing. Blah blah, the professor (very nicely) said to email George and say this to him, so I emailed him...and was very nice. That weekend, I got a response, so *I* responded, but that was the last I heard from him. And that was...two or three weeks ago?

So imagine my surprise when I opened up my mailbox this weekend and saw an email from him...inviting me to lunch with him and a female friend of his! I accepted, but I was all freaked out. I mean, I'd never even SPOKEN to this guy before, and I'm ridiculously shy around new people as it is! This morning when I woke up, I briefly contemplated not even going in to class, and just emailing him and saying, "Oh, sorry, I wasn't able to make it to class this morning!" But I went. And at the end of class, I was standing at my seat fidgeting with my things because I didn't know if he was going to come over to me, or if I should just go over...in the end, I just went assertive and approached him. We walked out to his car, and he was chatting like we were already friends! Wish I had that kind of confidence...

Brunch was fun, and the two girls that showed up were a riot. Well, the one girl was, anyway. The other girl (the one who George had mentioned in the email) seemed kinda cool toward me, though that could have just been because we didn't know each other. At any rate, I still enjoyed myself. Felt incredibly guilty, however, when the checks came and it turns out that they'd put my meal on the same receipt as George's! I actually had money with me this time, and I told him I had a $20, but he was like, "No, don't worry about it." Probably because it was only a little over $4 for me, lol, but still! Then we got out to the parking lot and he opened the door for me, which I thought was nice but didn't think too much about. As he was about to put his seat belt on, the girls pulled up in front of us and waved for him to come over. He told me when he came back that they were teasing him because he never opens doors for them. Ha. ;)

He was about to take me back to my apartment, then asked if I had anywhere to be, so we drove around for maybe 10 minutes or so (someone called him, so he had to come back). And we finally got to talk about music, hehe! There was one thing he said, though, that oddly reminded me SO much of Geoff. I mentioned ELP and Jethro Tull, and he was like, "Look at you, talking about Jethro Tull and Emerson Lake and Palmer!" Geoff says "Look at you...!" a lot when I say surprising things, so that was kinda weird, hehe!

Anyway, I have to dash off to class, but suffice it to say I had an enjoyable morning/early afternoon! :) And who'd have thought, right? LOL!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!