Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: A good day. :)
Written on Monday, Nov. 08, 2004 at 6:47 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Last night at my fraternity meeting, one of the girls I initiated with--nicknamed Panda--told me to call her after I got home from my committee meeting, which was right after the regular business meeting. She said she and Becky had something to drop off for me, and of course that made me really curious because I never see either of them except at meetings and other PSP functions...so what could they possibly have that they'd need to give to me?

I wound up forgetting to call her, because there was so much confusion with the committee meeting that everything else got pushed out of my head. So she IMed me and teasingly chastised me, then asked if she and Becky could drive over. I met them outside, because my stairwell still doesn't have the light fixed in it and I didn't want them tripping on the stairs. When I walked outside, they were standing at the back of Panda's car with the trunk open...and I couldn't resist, so I called out, "Uh oh, are you both gonna stuff me in the trunk?"

As it turns out, they'd brought over a big basket and then another shallow box full of food for me. Jars of homemade spaghetti sauce, a jar of green beans, a big loaf of bread, half-gallon of milk, peanut butter, pasta...There was SO much stuff they gave me. And I was just struck dumb. The only person who has done something similar for me was Tim (well, and Geoff, technically), but that was as a 'back-to-school' sort of present. I've never had a friend go out of their way to do anything like this--and that is NOT to say that I have bad friends! It doesn't mean that at all, because I love my friends! But since initiation last fall, I hardly EVER see these two girls. But they knew what a tough time I was going through with money, and they decided to help me out.

"We were afraid of offending you," Becky admitted anxiously.

"No, no, this means so much to me, you don't even know," I replied, trying not to get all emotional. The moment they left, however, after helping me upstairs with the food, I just broke down and cried. I feel like I've turned into such a cynical beast most of the time, saying I hate people and they're all asses...but then people like them come around and remind me that there are some TRULY awesome folks in the world. I can't even express NOW what a gesture like that means to me. Especially since Panda is going through some serious problems of her own. She's not doing so well financially, she's on all sorts of medications due to stress-related problems...that just makes what she did even more special.

Yesterday was just an AWESOME day. I finally have a job...and granted, it's not 100% dependable (I'm selling Avon, so...hint hint...ha ha), but it's still money. And I think my first order is going to be substantial enough for me to get a nice little bit of money. I'll keep the first bit on hand, so maybe I can finally go out with friends! And then after that, I'll have to start keeping it in the bank so I can pay bills and things.

I hope things start looking up from here! :)

(By the way, Mike...If you're still around and not bogged down with work, lol...I still have both hands, don't worry! That chain letter didn't bring me down, ha ha! I just haven't had anything interesting to say. And how special do you feel now, getting your own personal shout-out? Hehehe!)

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!