Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Knock knock, Avon calling!
Written on Thursday, Nov. 04, 2004 at 11:57 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

So...I was getting ready to run out to class today, after taking a nice nap, and I saw that we had a message on our answering machine. What I heard was this:

"Hi, Elizabeth, this is [name, which I don't remember] from A1 and I've been trying to get in touch with you. If you could give me a call, my number is [blah blah blah]."

First off, there are no Elizabeths living in this apartment. However, whenever someone asks for that name, and I know they don't mean my mother, I tend to get paranoid anyway because that's my middle name. So I start wondering if they actually meant me. I wouldn't mind being named Elizabeth. Yeah, it's an overused name, but I think it's really beautiful. It's classic; that's why everyone likes it. And it goes with practically any last name. I know, because I'm always trying to match my name up with random last names, and 'Amber' doesn't mesh well with anything. But 'Elizabeth' does. Anyway. Not the point of this tale.

I deleted the message, figuring it was a wrong number or some such. But it continued to nag at me, and on my way to class I kept thinking about it. Finally, I figured out that the woman wasn't saying 'A1', she was saying 'AVON'! Here I thought those people just weren't interested in contacting me, but it just took them an insanely long amount of time!

She apparently called again, because Kristen left me a note with the woman's name and telephone number. I swear I remember entering my cell phone number on the form, not the home number, but whatever. The fact is, this might just be my opportunity to get some real money! Except...now I'm afraid. Because I don't know that I'd be able to get that many people around here to buy anything. I'm not a good salesperson; I'm too shy to just randomly go up to people. And I don't even have the $10 starter fee at this point, so I don't know how I'd get that accomplished.

Stacie (or Stacey...I keep getting confused on how to spell your name, lol!)...I don't suppose you'd be willing to have a chat with me on IM sometime soonish, would you? You're the experienced Avon person here (hell, you're the one that made me even THINK of doing it, so if there's a referral program, totally let me know because you'd get full credit for it!), and I have questions! I THINK my AIM name is in my profile, but if it's not, just let me know and I'll give it to you. Or if you'd prefer to email or something, that would work too. Just as long as you're willing to help, lol!

I'm so excited about this, because it could mean a small amount of income. I don't know how much; I guess it all depends on how many people are willing to shell out money. But still, SOME money is better than none, right? I'm definitely not cut out to be a salesperson, but when you're as desperate for cash as I am, you'll do pretty much anything. Heck, I'd sell drugs at this point. Still not at the "sell MYSELF" state of desperation, though, which is good! :P

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!