Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: No Halloween!
Written on Wednesday, Oct. 27, 2004 at 1:17 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Those initiating into Phi Sigma Pi (our chapter, at least; I don't know if it's a national rule) have to organize a social for all the brothers. Their costs are paid for and everything, so it's not like they need to shell out their own money. They just have to come up with an idea and put it all together.

For the past...I don't know, FOREVER, the fall semester initiates have always done a Halloween social. It just makes sense. I mean, it always occurs the week before Halloween, so what better time to have a Halloween social, right? Last year, I didn't have a costume. I came dressed up as a "hippie", because I just happened to have a tie-dyed shirt and some bell-bottom jeans. Still, it was a pretty weak costume, because they were clothes I normally wear anyway. This year, I was all set. I brought up the dress I'd made for LOJ, and my little star garland crown (which I've had for YEARS, ever since the one New Year's I worked at Super Fresh...and I quit there the summer after my senior year). I was all excited because I'd actually have a cute costume and I wouldn't mind getting my picture taken.

You know already where this is going, I'm sure, but just hold on. The initiates this semester were going to hold a Halloween social. Until they looked through the past scrapbooks and saw that everyone had done one of those already. These initiates wanted to be different. So they're throwing a "Hollywood" party, where everyone has to dress up like a celebrity.

*throws a tantrum*

That ticks me off to no end! Not in a violent, "I want to hit something" kind of way, but come on! I finally get a costume, the Halloween social thing is something of a tradition, and these guys go and switch it up! I don't have a costume again. I was trying to think of a way I could still wear my dress, but frankly...it won't work. The hem of both skirt layers is cut to look somewhat tattered, so I couldn't really pass it off as a formal dress. It has an empire waist, otherwise I'd pretend I was one of those actresses who plays in period movies, heh. But that just wouldn't work. And I really don't like celebrities, so I can't think of anyone to dress up as. I don't have any money, so I can't buy ANYTHING to help out a costume. And sure, I can technically go without dressing up, but I'll also feel like a jackass. So I've decided I'm just not going. I don't really feel like it anyway. Of course, I'll feel really bad if no one shows up to it, but I've heard several people talking about their costumes so I don't think that'll be a problem.

Now I have no reason to wear my dress and crown, because I have no other Halloween parties to attend, and I'm not going to dress up and walk around campus or anything like that! *sighs* It just figures. Oh well, maybe next year I'll bring the dress up again...and whether I'm Historian again or not, I'll make sure to keep the scrapbooks WELL-HIDDEN from the initiates!!!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!