Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Walmart and jobs
Written on Saturday, Sept. 18, 2004 at 8:26 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

I was just about to finish getting ready so that I could run out to Walmart with Kristen...and Kevin called. I thought that he'd gone home for the weekend, but he was about to ask if I wanted to go to Walmart with him! LOL...And oddly enough, he was walking past my house as we were talking, so I invited him up so he could finally see the place. Kristen had to get back by 4 o'clock, and it was already a little after 3, so I told her to leave and I'd just go with Kevin. I felt bad, as though I was ditching her, but I didn't want either her or I to have to rush around! And besides that, I've only gotten to hang out with Kevin once so far this year, so it was nice to hang out a bit today.

When we went into Walmart, there was a big display with row upon row of Sims 2 boxes. Despite the $50 price tag, I was going to buy it. But Kevin wouldn't let me, lol! I know he's not my boss, and I could have bought it even if he'd latched himself to my leg and I had to drag him back to the electronics section. But the fact is, I'm glad he stopped me. Because, as I've lamented several times already, I have no money. And plastic is ridiculously addicting. Besides that, I'd already told myself a few days ago that I was going to get Sims 2 as a present for myself if I get the Perkins job.

Perkins, for anyone who doesn't know, is a "Family Restaurant". ;) It's got a funny name, but hey, who cares about that, right? I was in class on Thursday afternoon when my friend Chelsey said something about having to go to work at 5:30 that evening. She didn't have a job here last year, so in the hopes that maybe she'd be working somewhere I could also apply at, I asked her where her job was...and then, in a somewhat joking tone (to lessen the feel of rejection, hehe), I asked if they were still hiring. And she said yes!

I've never waitressed a day in my life. And this restaurant is out by Walmart, which means I'm going to have to find a way to fit my schedule around the bus schedule in order for it all to work out. But I have been praying just about every night for an opportunity to present itself, and this seems to be it! Kevin drove me over today so I could get an application, and Chelsey happened to be there when I walked in. However, it took some other woman to get the app for me because Chelsey didn't know where it was, the old woman who was training her apparently didn't realize that I was standing there for any reason other than to chat...that was a bit irritating. But I have everything filled out except my hours...and I'm REEEEALLY hoping I can get this job! Because it's a nice little restaurant, I hopefully won't have such a hard time doing this waitressing thing. And the tips...! It won't be the kinds of tips I'd probably get as a bartender...but then, I didn't really want to have to be a bartender anyway. And I'd probably suck at it besides.

So I'm very anxious and excited about this. It's going to mean a hell of a lot less free time, but money is needed right now! You can't even imagine how poor both me and my mother are right now. We should qualify for welfare or something right now. I think she said she only has about $150 in her checking account right now, and as I've mentioned, I'm down to about $45. See why it's good that I didn't impulse buy on the Sims? :P This has been a cloud hanging over my head for the past month and a half.

Anyway, that's all I wanted to say. ;) Kevin and I had a good time, I only bought necessities...and I got the job application. Wheee!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!