Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: MIA no longer!
Written on Wednesday, Sept. 01, 2004 at 9:06 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

I kinda sorta forgot to announce the fact that I was moving back up to college. :P That was last Tuesday, and classes just started this past Monday.

With each year, I seem to get more and more homesick. Freshman year, I was all, "Well, I'm a little sad that I'm not at home, but WOO HOO! COLLEGE! Yeah, this is FUN!" For the first half of sophomore year, it was a more subdued, "Yay, college." but then by the second semester, I was like, "IWANGOHOMERIGHTNOW! WAHHH!" And this year, I spent the first day here crying, lol! Well, not the whole day. Mom, Geoff, Tim, and I drove up on Tuesday night. The guys stayed in a hotel, while Mom and I stayed here at the apartment. I know it was mostly me just being tired, but we stayed up 'til 6 am talking and at least an hour of that time was spent with me crying and spilling out everything that's been depressing me lately. Then later that day, while we were all moving in, I was mostly fine...but I was sick on my stomach most of the time because I was so anxious about the moment when they finally left. They were supposed to leave around noon or so, but there was SO much to do that they didn't leave until around 7-ish. : I felt SO badly for Geoff, because he didn't get home until one in the morning and then he had to be up by 4:30 to go to work.

The minute they left, though, I just started bawling. I was all by myself in this big apartment, and none of my friends had moved up yet because it was almost a week before school even started. I was looking forward to my roommate's arrival on Thursday, and then Tiff's arrival on Friday. Yes, Tiff is here doing her LS graduate studies! Yayness! :D

Anyway, it didn't really take me too long to feel at home in this place...though that isn't TOO surprising, given my somewhat Laura Ingalls-ish life (what with moving around as much as I have). It feels nice to be putting down roots...though now, of course, I want to be able to stay in this apartment next year! I know Diane had said last year that she wanted to room with me next year, so we'll see. Kristen's not going to stay in an apartment, because of all her student teaching stuff she'll have to be doing.

My biggest complaint about the apartment so far is the fact that the girls below us like to play their rap music with the bass up REALLY HIGH. So the floor starts vibrating to the beat...and I hate rap enough anyway, without my floor shaking to the beat of it. So that sucks. We asked them once to turn it down, and they did, but of course they have short-term memory so it must not have occurred to them not to turn it up above a certain point. And I know that's their apartment, but unfortunately we all have to live together, in some form or another. I hate college towns, I really do. And this neighborhood is SO wonderful otherwise, too. It's on my favorite street, with all the old Victorian houses and the big leafy trees branching over the street...If only adults lived here, it would be perfect. But then, Diary, you know already that I really don't like most people my age. So I guess my grandmotherly tendencies are no surprise.

My favorite class this semester is going to be the History of Rock Music class. Oh man, after the first class, which is in an auditorium, I kept thinking to myself, "I HAVE to be in the front row from now on!" Most of our classes on this campus are small (25-30 students), and I'm not a big fan of auditorium classes (unless they're boring, in which case I like being able to hide myself). You can't participate very well from the back, especially when you're the quiet sort like myself. There's no way I'd ever raise my hand and shout to the front of the room! I'm nervous enough trying to participate from the back of a small classroom! But anyway, the professor told us that he'd been a senior in high school when The Doors first came on the scene, and he was a senior in college when Jim Morrison died...so those years in between are the ones he relates to most. I wanted to squeal, "ME TOO!" (though of course, I didn't have the luck of living during that time!) I can't wait for this. It's going to be the most awesome class ever.

Anyway, I've been hogging this phone line long enough, and Kristen's probably all irritated that I'm not allowing anyone to call...though no one's going to be calling us anyway, because no one knows our number (well, except some of her friends)! And if they called and got a busy signal, they could always call her cell phone anyway, so it's not like she's going to miss anybody. We're getting along just fine, other than my extreme annoyance at her growing fundamentalist Christian attitude, but I keep all that hidden because there's no need to start a fight. We have to live with each other all year, after all! And as long as she doesn't start preaching to me in that arrogant way she's adopted, I'll be fine.

LOL...and now I'm looking over my shoulder in case she suddenly appears (I'm in the living room), I'd better cut this short. ;) Just wanted to let everyone know I was still alive, in case anyone wondered!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!