Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Yesterday's truant entry
Written on Friday, Aug. 20, 2004 at 1:00 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

*grrs* Well, Diaryland is apparently still up to all its usual niceness. *grumblegrumble* The following is an entry that was SUPPOSED to have showed up here yesterday. I'm so used to getting a "page not responding" message after posting a message, only to see it DID in fact post, that I don't even care anymore. But apparently, yesterday when that happened, the entry didn't actually post. Soo, my actual entry from today (which is just more crankiness) is before this one. And THIS is the one that was supposed to have shown up yesterday.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Geoff took me out to Boothwyn today, which is where I spent about a year and a half living with my grandparents. Well, my parents were living there too, it's not like I was by myself. ;) Mom had told me what road the house had been on (I was only 4/5 at the time), so he decided to take me out there and see if I could find the place. I didn't know where we were going until we were halfway there, however. :P

I never found the house. Everything looks so different, and I couldn't even see into anyone's backyards (like you used to be able to) to see who had the in-ground pool. Mom said that a few years after we left, they started building new houses around there, so maybe they diverted the roads and stuff and that's why nothing was familiar. It HAS been, what...almost 20 years. Gah, that's depressing.

The one familiar thing I saw immediately was the old laundromat next to the 7-11. I remember going with Mom to do our laundry, and while the machines were running I'd beg her to buy me a Slushee. There were good memories associated with that weekly routine! So today, Geoff parked in front of the laundromat and we walked next door to the 7-11. :) He would've bought me a Slushee, but I ended up buying a black cherry...wishniak? Yeah, that's what it was called. From Canada Dry. I'd never heard of the stuff before, and thought Canada Dry only made ginger ale, but it wasn't half bad! A little too sweet to drink an entire bottle, but not bad.

Anyway, it was just a fun sort of trip. We also drove past the apartment complex I lived in for several years, but we didn't stop there. It would've been kinda fun to stop and check out the creek where I used to spend all my summer days. But I'll save that trip down Memory Lane for another day. ;)

Unfortunately, we picked up Tim after that and had dinner up around where I live. He has his moments, but most of the time I just don't like him. But we already know that. ;) Today, he was smacking and popping his gum, and now that I think about it, I felt like that one inmate woman in "Chicago". I hate that sound. Blowing bubbles every now and then is fine, but the way he was just popping it, and chewing with his mouth open...it's just another one of those things that happens to rub me the wrong way. :P But dinner was nice, so at least there was that.

Next week at this time, I'll be by myself (well, with Kristen) in my new apartment, and more than likely depressed as hell. I hate the initial leaving home feelings. And this time, I'm going to be there 5 days before classes start, so I won't have that immediate routine to jump into and make me concentrate on something else. It's kind of sad that I barely felt homesickness during my freshman year, and it's getting worse each year after that. But I only have two more years, including this year! How on earth did that happen already?

I am completely bushed. I can't believe I stayed up this long; I went to bed at 8 am (after watching the new Tales of Avonlea DVD I'd bought...I LOVED that show when I was a kid!), and then Geoff called at 11. X_X I should have been in bed hours ago, lol!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!