Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: A welcome slap in the face
Written on Tuesday, Aug. 17, 2004 at 12:14 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

There's a mother and daughter who were offered over 40 million dollars to sell their farm so that a development could be built there.

They repeatedly said no.

I thought that was the most AWESOME thing! I wanted to call them up and cheer for them! I'm so sick of every open piece of land getting swallowed up with cookie-cutter developments. Not only are developments ugly, but...well, they're ugly. And they're completely unnecessary. We moved out to this area because it was more or less rural...well, rural-suburban, I guess. It was so nice not to be surrounded by buildings, to actually have wide open spaces around us. Yet over the past several years, housing developments have been cropping up in any available space. It's depressing. And it's sad that farmers have so much difficulty keeping their heads above water that they have to sell all their property.

But these two women have gotten money from the government, so long as the property remains agricultural property. I only wish more farms could get that kind of benefit.

I would rather have to search for years for a house, but then find one that was uniquely me, rather than buy up a cookie-cutter shack that looks exactly like every other house on the block. I think I could survive living in a wee apartment 'til then; I mean, I'm living in one now, aren't I? Then again, I don't have enough money for a house. :P

In other news, I have been eating like a friggin' PIG for the past two days, and I don't really know why. Maybe it's stress-eating. But I just feel like I'm always hungry, and I know I've probably gained like 5 pounds already, especially since I'm not active or anything! I haven't been active at ALL this summer. That's really depressing, too. I can't wait for school to start up, so I can lose all this weight speed-walking to my classes (and, of course, going to the Rec Center)! And since I don't have a meal plan this year, I'll be more or less starving all the time, so I should lose weight that way, too. LOL...okay, I'm kidding about that being a good thing. But I probably WILL be hungry half the time, hehe!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!