Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Mini-Me, you complete me
Written on Friday, Apr. 09, 2004 at 11:59 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

I never would have expected anyone to guess it, but of course Geoff's a different breed. So of course he'd somehow be able to figure it out.

Remember me talking in here before about my fear of buffets? Or rather, the self-consciousness I have at walking up to get food, blah blah blah? That's something people don't typically guess, y'know?

Anyway, he and Tim both already knew that I didn't like buffets, but they were under the impression that I didn't like the things because the food was dirty or something. I told them that wasn't the reason, but since I wouldn't offer up anything else I guess they just figured that I was a pathetically bad liar. So tonight we were eating in this little dumpy sort of Italian restaurant, and the subject of buffets came up. Well, of course it would, because they take any chance possible to tease me mercilessly about all my finicky quirks.

However, then the subject changed, and we were talking about something completely different when our food arrived. I forget what I said, but it prompted Tim to be like, "You'll be 300 pounds like us!"

"Oh, believe me, I'm already on my way there," I quipped dryly. All of a sudden, Geoff exclaims:

"That's why you don't like buffets! It makes you self-conscious walking up there!"

I couldn't even pretend that wasn't the reason, I was so shocked. I mean seriously, how common is it for someone not to go to those things because they're self-conscious about walking? It's really not something anyone's going to guess, especially when the subject wasn't even about that at the time! I just gaped at him for a moment in disbelief, then turned away quickly in this "Oh my god!" sort of way.

The odd thing is, he didn't even make fun of me about it. I thought for sure he'd be all like, "Don't be stupid! It's just food!" but he didn't tease me at all. Tim made a comment about how they go up to get food like 5 times (to which Geoff added, "And we are fat!"), but that was it. I'm still shocked about it now.

I dunno, maybe it was one of those 'had to be there' (or 'had to be me') situations. I just thought it was pretty wild that he could have guessed it. I never thought it'd happen...I was even feeling sort of smug in the knowledge that they'd just keep thinking I was a bad liar, when in reality they didn't have it right at all! :P Shows what I get for being smug, right? ;)

I'm sure this subject will probably come up quite a bit in the future. But at least he didn't do it tonight. I was already feeling irritated with him from last night; his teasing me about that subject probably would have just ruined the evening! XP

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!