Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Ceremonies
Written on Tuesday, Apr. 06, 2004 at 1:19 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Our Founder's Day ceremony was tonight. We had it in Moore Hall, which is the oldest building on campus (that's still standing). I've never been inside it before, but it is SO gorgeous! It was built back in 1800-something, and it was originally called "Music Hall," but then it turned into the President's home until I guess a few years ago or something. At any rate, everything is really big and grand and antiquated in there, and if I was able to fix it up, I would so want to live there. Even if it IS in the middle of campus, it's awesome.

See, this is why I'm going to make such a great Historian (yes, I was elected Historian for next year!): I'm a freak about local history. The first room in this building had pictures of a bunch of the old presidents, and then it had the woman whose name was given to my dorm. Too awesome! I always wondered what she looked like! :-P The last president up on the wall was from the 1980's (and it's weird, because I've read so much about him in the old editions of our campus newspaper), but unlike the other portraits his just says "President". No years of office or anything like that, which makes me think the new residence must have been created during or a little after his time.

I know, you're all riveted.

Anyway, our ceremony was SO nice. We did the changing of the officers thing, which was a little icky because Lisa (the current Historian) has a really big stuttering problem that's worsened when she's nervous. And she was SO nervous about reading off this little blurb, so there was complete silence for literally about 3 minutes while she tried to just start up what she was saying. She would occasionally squeak the first partial syllable of my name, but then would go silent again. And it took her probably around 5 minutes just to finish a really tiny paragraph.

Later on, they had the awards ceremony, and the only certificate I got was for being on Dean's list last semester (a trend which will NOT continue this semester). I knew I wouldn't get anything else; this is going to sound really stupid, but even though I'm liked by everyone, I'm not the sort of person who comes to the top of everyone's mind. Does that make sense? I'm probably sounding like I need a pity party, but just for once I'd like to be someone's favorite...I mean, Mike's loved by EVERYONE (and he's got enough awards to cover a full wall, lol), and then there's Lisa, who's like the golden child...I don't know. It's probably more trouble than pleasure to be so loved by everyone, but...well, whatever. I just needed to get that out. I feel better now. :P

Anyhoo, Steph (the fraternity president) made this PowerPoint presentation for all of us at the end, and I'm so glad it ended when it did...'cause otherwise the tears would have been free-flowing. It's so hard to believe that 6 of the people I've gotten SO close to are going to be leaving after this semester! Well, Steph and Erin will still be around doing graduate studies, but they'll be alumni in the fraternity, so it won't be the same!

Bleh...well, it's retardedly late, so I need to get to bed. *hugs* Love you all! G'night!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!