Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Keep on rockin' me, baby
Written on Sunday, Apr. 11, 2004 at 1:07 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Kathy IMed me today and asked if I wanted to hang out with her during the afternoon. She offered to give me a ride, but I would have felt so retarded getting a ride from my 18-year old friend (who got her license when she was 16, unlike myself), so I just said I'd wait for Mom to get home so I could borrow her car.

Of course, Mom was rather nervous about giving it to me, because she's so overprotective, so at first she tried suggesting that SHE drive me over, and then I'd call her when I wanted to come home. I was definitely not up for that, lol! It would have been a little on the embarrassing side! She gave in in the end, and I drove just fine. And hanging out with Kathy and Amy again was sooooo nice! They've both grown up so much (Amy's this tall, skinny, blonde thing, lol...so different!), but I was still totally comfortable around them! Kathy drove us out to Chili's and we had dinner (it was weird driving with her, lol...I can't help thinking of her as the little kid I first met 12 or 13 years ago), then went to Best Buy. I finally got the "Back to the Future" trilogy, woot! And the Steve Miller Band CD I'd been wanting forever. :P

They had plans to go over to a friend's house after we got back, and Kathy invited me, but I wasn't comfortable going over to the house of some guy I'd never met. And I'm sure none of her friends would have been that comfortable, either. So I just hopped back in the car and went home (taking a longer route so I'd have more time to drive, hee hee).

Yeah, I sound like a 16-year old who's finally gotten to drive by herself for the first time, but it was seriously so wonderful! I could listen to whatever music I wanted to, and I didn't feel nervous about Mom criticizing my driving...I know I'm not perfect at it or anything, but I didn't do badly, either!

When I got home, I said I'd had fun, and so after a few minutes Mom was like, "You can go out again if you want to. Go to Walmart, or just drive wherever you want to."

Laughing, I teased, "You were afraid for me to even take the car to Kathy's house earlier today!"

But she was all insistent that I just get out and drive...so I did. :P She'd given me a mini list of things that she needed, so I headed out to the closest Walmart. However, the lines were like 5 miles long and they didn't sell milk or anything, so I left and went to the OTHER Walmart...which meant that I had to get into some trickier driving situations (well, tricky for a novice such as myself, hehe). But obviously, I'm back unscathed! I'm not sure if I should tell her where exactly I went, though, since I'm sure it would send her off panicking! She didn't even want me going to the mall, because that particular stretch of highway frightens her...but come on. It was almost midnight by the time I went out that way, and almost one o'clock by the time I started coming back. The roads were so empty that I wasn't really having any problems! Thank goodness, because I haven't mastered merging yet. *giggles*

So anyway, that's my tale for the evening. I wonder if she'd let me take the car Monday to go visit Geoff? *hees* Probably not, but the driving situations aren't that much different from those I encountered this evening! And there'd be no merging! I'm going to ask her, at any rate. The worst she can say is no!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!