Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Weather Girl
Written on Tuesday, Mar. 30, 2004 at 11:37 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Jamie taught me how to use the graphics generator at the TV station tonight, 'cause from now on I'm going to be working just on Wednesdays, and doing the graphics. Yeah, as much as she irritates me sometimes, she still saw how miserable I was and helped me out. Sure, it's very nearly the end of the semester. But at least I won't be doing 3 nights a week anymore! And I asked Siggy tonight if he'd be able to show me how to do the weather stuff at some point, because I'm getting more and more interested in trying out to be a weather person next year.

Actually, I'm always imagining that I can do these things, but when it comes right down to it, I'll probably suck as much as those two girls I'm making fun of this semester. XP I think it's one of those things that would take practice to get better at...I mean, you don't have a script for this, so it's basically just looking at the weather maps and trying to BS through each of them. But if I got them done early enough (and since this would only be one day a week, it's not as though I'd have to do this really often), I'd have time to look at the 'moving maps' to get an idea of the direction of storm fronts and all that stuff...

I know. That's probably about as boring as I can get. :P I just want to spruce things up a little bit, you know? Actually, I'm going to ask if we HAVE to stick to that set format, because I think it would be fun to find a map that's more local than what we use. Back home, our news station does the maps and everything, but then they have a local map that shows temperatures at various areas, and up in the left corner there's this little bubble with some kind of pun or amusing phrase to sum up the day's weather. How fun would that be? We could use that instead of one of the other screens they typically use, and the most exhaustive part for me (as far as creating that graphic) would be the first-time creation. After that, if I used layers, I could just go back and edit everything, and it would be a breeze.

So yeah, obviously I've been putting a lot of thought into it...it's just a matter of me getting up the confidence to actually try out. Siggy was all for it, saying to go for it and all this other stuff, so...I don't know, maybe!

Apparently, I'm going to be the star of our Temporal Media movie project. I don't even want to go into what happened during our film analysis project, but our movie project is going to be...interesting. Not what I'd wanted us to do, but hopefully it'll turn out alright. It's basically about this janitor who had a box of Girl Scout cookies stolen from the janitor's closet (this was actually in our Public Safety Blotter in the campus paper). We're exaggerating the tale and making the janitor a borderline nutcase...so apparently, I was the natural choice for the janitor. We were in the library tonight, and I'd come back from saying hi to my PSP bros when Mel and Jamie told me I was the janitor. Well, if I wanted to be, anyway. I decided I might as well go for it.

But of course now I'm all afraid I won't be that great an actress, lol! Oh well, it'll give me a chance to try it out, at least! I think I'll end up being rather flat, though.

Okay, it's after 11:30, so I think I'm going to wash my dishes and then get to bed. I have not studied AT ALL for my Economics exam tomorrow, and considering I haven't paid attention in classes or anything...I'm 100% certain of failure. But oh well. I got a 68.5 on my last exam, so any optimism I might've had for that class was shot a long time ago. If I fail, I'll just take the course over again during a summer or something. I'm not going to stress out about it. Not. Going. To.

Good night!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!