Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Flowers everywhere!
Written on Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2004 at 8:03 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

I went to the annual Philadelphia Flower Show with Mom today. I've never been to it before, but she didn't have anyone to go with this year...and besides that, I've hardly gotten to see her since I came home, except in passing (as in, passing as she's on her way to bed). X_X Darned job of hers! Anyway, it was also my first time ever riding a train. Not such a fan. Thankfully, this one had so many friggin' stops that it didn't really have time to speed up, but trains just make me nervous. What if it derails or something? I know there's probably more chance of crashing in a car, but still, trains are all exotic and dangerous to me. :P

Anyway, the flower show was rocksome. Lola, I think I stole borrowed that word from you, didn't I? I suddenly found it infiltrating my language recently, and since then I haven't been able to stop using it. But I was supposed to be talking about the flower show, wasn't I? I think this year's theme was some kind of paradise-type thing. Yeah, that would make sense, since the title was "Destination Paradise". XP Not the brightest crayon here, folks. The flowers were gorgeous, though. Well first of all, as you approach the doors to this big convention center, you can just SMELL the flora. Y'know that florist's shop smell? Yeah, it was like that. Just pure plantage. And then all the big flower displays were tropical and exotic, and it only reaffirmed the fact that I need to find my own private tropical island.

One of the displays was made to look like some kind of Persian...thing. *laughs* I can't think of the right word. Anyway, there was this huge gauzy canopy over all these cushions and a gold-toned tray with fruits and silverware and other things. It was surrounded by a shallow pool of water, and combined with the lighting, I could just imagine a group of harem girls gathered around giggling and gossiping quietly with one another.

Another interesting one was an under-the-sea motif. They even suspended a small boat high above and pointed rippling blue lights on the underside, to deepen the feeling that you're underwater. The colors were all really bright and tropical, and I halfway expected Ariel and Sebastian to start belting out calypso tunes.

A really cute display was made to look like a romantic little hiding spot. There were two lounge chairs nestled back amongst the foliage, with two martinis on a small table between them. A fountain bubbled nearby in a pond, and a couple of golden cranes were added as well. But what I found neatest was that a man's suit jacket and tie had been draped over one chair, while a woman's dark red dress shoes and white shawl were left by the other chair. It gave the impression that these two lovers had slipped off to romance each other away from prying eyes, hehe...

At any rate, I'll have pictures later. I forgot to bring my camera cable home with me, so I have to wait 'til I get back to college. >_< We bought several things, including some WONDERFUL spices that can be made into dips or salad dressings or whatever else you can think of. I bought "Spices of India," because the folks at the pavilion just happened to have turned it into a delicious chip dip. And I loved it immensely. I also bought two small fuschia plants from another pavilion (I was determined not to leave without plants, lol), and then on our way out of the entire building, I stopped in the Philly Hard Rock Cafe and bought a bear. *laughs* So now I've got 3, and none of them are from very exotic locations! I need to take a trip overseas so I can get a London bear. ;)

I have a doctor's appointment on Friday. It's a war against my ears. I don't know what's been going on with them, but I've had problems with them for like the past year. Not pain, really (though they DO ache occasionally), but just...well, excess wax production. You're welcome for the info. I used to clean them out with Q-Tips after my shower, but for the past 2 months I decided to stop doing it because I kept reading about how bad it was to do that. But everything just built up, and my ears started getting all stuffy and I couldn't hear! So anyway, yeah, I don't know why this is happening now, but I'm going back to the doctor to see if he can tell me what's up.

It's cold in here. I need to fire up the ol' space heater and luxuriate in its toasty warmth.

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!