Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Good morning!
Written on Monday, Feb. 16, 2004 at 1:38 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

While everyone ELSE in the American school system had off today, our campus just kept on chugging. I suppose it turned out to be a good thing, though. LOL...okay, actually it was quite a good morning.

We started learning about website-creation this morning in our CIS class. The professor asked how many of us had our own webpages, and then he asked each of us what we used to create them. Everyone was naming some kind of program, but I just type my html out into Notepad and then transfer it! I didn't know if that's what he meant, though, so I just said I used GeoCities. He ended up getting the idea that I used their SiteBuilder tool. So a few minutes later, when he asked what a webpage theme is, he picked on me (as he's wont to do). "When you click on Sitebuilder, it asks you questions about how you want the page to look, right?"

"Oh, no," I replied, startled. "I don't use that, I just type out all my stuff in Notepad and copy it over to GeoCities."

"So you do all your own tags?"

"Yep."

"Wow, you're hardcore! Okay, I'm getting away from her..."

Hardcore! *falls over laughing* What made it funnier is that he's from Ghana, and he still has a relatively heavy accent. So I don't know, certain things he says (or more appropriately, the way he says them) are really funny. I heart that professor. He's cool.

Anyway, I worked for Mary Beth for 2 hours after that, and as I was getting up to leave, she asked me why I'm not working for the campus paper. She's the advisor, if I haven't mentioned that already. I told her that I didn't think I was any good at journalistic writing, but she told me that she thinks I'm a very strong writer..."I saw your Free Press article, and it was really good," she told me. "And that was BEFORE it was edited!"

I don't remember seeing anything changed in my article after being edited, so I'm not sure if they actually did anything to it!

At any rate, she continued by saying that all but one editor will be gone next year, and that they're paid positions. And she seriously thinks I'd be good in the position of News Editor or something! I quail at the thought of all the responsibility such a position would bring, but at the same time it's kind of an exciting thought. Especially since someone thinks I'd be qualified for it! She made mention of the fact that I'm so quiet, and that I should get out there more, hehe...Sounds like something my mother has told me many a time before... :P

So I'm going to talk to the editor-in-chief this week and ask her about it (though I don't know exactly how to broach it, heh). Mary Beth said she (Amy) would probably give me a few stories first, just to get an idea of how I write and whatever, and then I guess they'd start showing me around. Assuming I was any good, of course!

How could I go from being completely terrified of journalistic writing to thinking that hey, maybe I could do it after all? I've been getting secondhand pot smoke, I tell you. That's the only explanation.

On one final note, before I have to head off to Macroeconomics, I was nearing the radio station when I heard a male voice from the hallway speaker. It was really good. So much so, in fact, that I thought it must be one of the professional CDs we have to play occasionally. Yet when I walked by the window, it was a DJ talking...and a new one, at that! I passed the window, paused to listen to him a little more, and then decided to turn around and go back to give him a compliment.

Opening the door tentatively, I opened with, "This is probably going to sound really gay, but I just wanted to say that you have a REALLY good radio voice."

You should have seen the way his face just lit up. You could tell he was genuinely pleased to hear the compliment, as opposed to just casually polite. I tried complimenting Fred last year, and he was just kinda blas� about it, probably because he'd had so much experience before coming to radio. But this guy, whatever his name is...aww, he was so cute! It made me feel really good for putting my hesitance aside and just giving him the compliment. It's nice when people actually appreciate them, lol!

But now I have to go to Econ, so yay, have to turn off my beloved Robert Plant and head off. My alarm clock will now play Moody Blues every morning, bwa ha...I LOVE CLASSIC ROCK!!!!!!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!