Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: More rantings from moi!
Written on Tuesday, Jan. 20, 2004 at 9:13 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Query: Why do people actually enjoy watching American Idol? Is it because of the way people get ripped apart in the initial auditioning stage? Or is it something else? Because yeah, the final contestants can sing better than me, but their vocal quality (from what I've seen) really isn't anything spectacular. It all sounds very flat to me (and no, I'm not tone deaf). Clay has an obsession with making his voice do the Whitney Houston thing (only in his little boy type of voice), and even Kelly Clarkson has a very pop music sort of voice.

I don't know. I guess I'm just too much of a rock person. It's not that rock artists' voices are great, it's just that they're generally so talented, period. They can play their own instruments, they write their own songs, and they're generally just self-sufficient. I really am turning into something of a purist...I used to be able to listen to Britney Spears and all of those people, and I still listen to their songs occasionally, but it's not out of any deep liking for the artist. I'm so sick of all these little pop clones running around with their similar voices and their mindset that that vibrato-ish stuff (if the Clay/Christina/Whitney thing is called that...I have no idea WHAT the hell it is) is the way to make music sound good. I really ought to start trying out some of the stuff that Lola listens to. As far as the White Stripes and all of those guys. People who made it without having to sell themselves to television in order to get a record contract.

Maybe that's what bothers me so much, this whole new thing with music being so MTV-ized. We all know that I'm a 60's/70's child at heart, so I'm not into the music video thing. Well, I like seeing my favorite bands, of course, but I think it's gotten so ridiculous...I mean, basically the music video is being made to sell the song. It's not about the music anymore, it's about the image, and that sucks. Damn, all I want is a bunch of ugly men who can sing really well, LOL! Or an ugly woman, for that matter! As much as I like ogling good-looking men (like Robert Plant, ha ha), I'd be just as happy to have good music. As Laura pointed out, even people who don't write their own songs sometimes have beautiful voices. It's just that all I seem to see anymore are those "Making The Band" and "American Idol" sorts who don't have beautiful voices.

There's nothing really wrong with liking pop, I just...well, whatever. This was only supposed to be a one-sentence thing, lol! And all from the fact that we had a social in our dorm tonight and it was to eat ice cream (that's what I went for) and to watch American Idol. X_X I would have stayed anyway, but then this wretched girl that I hatehatehate arrived, and was being her usual loud, obnoxious self. She put her stuff down where I was sitting, so I moved it...and then after she'd gotten her food she was like, "Is my stuff next to you?" So I handed it back, all very nicely, and she just walked away. "You're welcome," I said, but she didn't hear me. GAH. I hate the girls in this dorm SO MUCH!!!

Okay, Miss Ranty is going away now. Maybe to play SIMS again. Or call her sexdefying lover. ;)

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!