Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Pirate apprentice
Written on Tuesday, Jan. 20, 2004 at 12:22 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

The Low-Fidelity All-Star: he was born with the cool, and it's totally natural.  He runs the gamut from Hipster Supreme (only they can ingest as much coffee as he) to the geeky hipster%
You are the Low-Fidelity All-Star. You were born
with your cool, and it's totally natural. You
run the gamut from Hipster Supreme (only they
can ingest as much coffee as you) to the geeky
hipster (Mario Kart, anyone?).

What Kind of Hipster Are You?
brought to you by Quizilla

Well, I rarely drink coffee, and I do tend to wear logos sometimes (Adidas and American Eagle), so I don't know how accurate that is, hehe...The Geek one is definitely more me, except that I don't like the Simpsons. :P Anyway, back to the entry...

Here I come to find out, our chapter of PSP is going more for quantity over quality at this point, so no wonder I got in! X_X I mean, I have no doubt that they like me now (well, most of 'em, anyway...others I don't know well enough, hehe)...but based on my interview alone, I definitely shouldn't have gotten in. Still, I think there's only about 40 of us total (and a bunch of those are inactive, whether officially or unofficially), so that makes the group even smaller. I wish we were as popular as other Greek organizations, hehe...I mean, I'm glad we're NOT a social Greek thingy, because I never would have stuck with it. But at the same time, it would be cool if there were more of us and we were more recognized! Right now, we're just some dinky little group of people who happen to be able to wear Greek letters...but no one even really knows who we are. :P

I guess the 3.0 stigma has something to do with it. In most fraternities and sororities, you can pretty much be completely stupid and still be allowed to get in. Well, I think they all have required GPA's, but they're all like 2.0 and 2.2 and stuff like that. Even with my crappy grades in high school, I think I could have managed that! So yeah, it just seems like most of the people who get 3.0s aren't interested in joining merely because it takes so much work to keep up those grades, and joining an organization would just eat up time. It's not that I necessarily want the types of people that join social Greek orgs (though admittedly, there are a few nice folks in them), I just wish there were more of us! Hehe...

Anyway, I had a PR Committee meeting tonight and we were talking about how it's more of a quantity thing here. Apparently, Penn State is like the Mecca of PSP, hehe, and they have lots of members. But what can you expect in a teeny little town like this?

My roommate has gotten me addicted to the SIMS. Her boyfriend bought her the Deluxe version for Christmas, and I was playing on her computer for hours the other night. Then I attempted to copy a version for my own computer, but the darn CDs are copy-protected, so I could install from the copied versions, but couldn't play the game! So I "stole" her CD and played for several hours again. :P Tonight, Mike sent me a program that would clone the CD exactly (so the computer wouldn't realize it was a burned copy), but I'm even having problems with that! Obviously, being a pirate is not in my future. I'm more like a pirate apprentice...and not a very good one, at that!

Then again, is it necessarily something to brag about, being a software pirate? I already feel guilty about trying to copy the software, LOL! If I had money, I would've just gone out by now and bought the darned thing, but I'm quite literally broke at this point. But it doesn't matter, because I can't get the CD to copy over correctly anyway...and I've wasted 3 CDs trying to do it. X_X Can't CD-Rs be written over? I thought they could, but apparently not...I guess it's only CD-RWs that have that magic power...and I don't know what happened to the CD-RW I had last semester. :

Argh, I'm so hungry! I've been too lazy this weekend to go down to the dining hall, especially as I had no one to go with, and for some reason they've decided the snack bar shall be closed on weekends, so I've had nothing. I'd just bring a book with me or something, but since we're all confined to one half of the dining hall now, it's always super crowded and it makes me uneasy. I like trying to find a table that's away from everyone else, so that way I feel like I'm not in everyone's vision. And then I put my back to them, so it doesn't matter if they ARE watching me. But if I'm surrounded by people, I can't get that security, and no amount of books will help me with that. And I'm back to having no one to go to dinner with me, so who knows how I'm going to work all this out. Maybe I just won't eat on the weekends, hehe...Bah, I hate people...

I think it's been snowing for much of the weekend. Flurrying, at any rate. I wouldn't know, since I haven't left my room much at all over the past 3 days, and the blinds have been down. Ah yes, I have hermitage down to a fine art. I wouldn't feel so guilty about it if I lived by myself, but I always feel like I'm being a dirty, lazy person with my roommate around, lol! Still, she was out all day today, so I was left alone to my dirtydom. ;) Then I had to go to my PR meeting, but I had fun so it was worth the cold and snow. I can't wait until initiation starts up again; I hope we get lots of new initiates, and none of them drop out! It'll be fnuu!

These peanuts are not doing anything for me. I know I've got to have better food somewhere...

This CD is copying much slower than it did the last time. Maybe that means it's actually going to work! *fingers crossed* Okay, anyway, I'm going to go. Even if it DOES work, I don't have any time to play the game tonight! *sniffles* And I just finished building my house for Jareth and Sarah earlier today, too! LOL...somebody actually made Jareth and Sarah characters, so I downloaded them. They're the second family in the neighborhood, after Geoff and Amber. ;) I did NOT skin our faces onto theirs, however. After seeing what that looks like, I'd be way too creeped out to have some kind of freaky skewed face peering back at me!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!