Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Teacher's pet!
Written on Wednesday, Dec. 10, 2003 at 7:27 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Mel has joked with me already that when it comes to my Intro to Images professor, she's still surprised that he didn't cancel class the day I wasn't there. She's not trying to call me a teacher's pet, she just thinks it's very amusing how much he likes me. As much as I'm amused by this as well, I'm also a little embarrassed. Yeah, he definitely does have a fondness for me. Nothing untoward, just a general "favorite student" sort of attitude. I tell you now, in complete honesty, that I did not purposely try to foster this attitude of his. Sure, it's a nice feeling to be someone's favorite, but that wasn't the goal I had in mind when I started talking to him outside of class. And I never talked to him outside of class unless there was an academic-related reason anyway. But then we'd start talking about other things, and twice I was in his office for like 10 or 15 minutes just chatting about random stuff. Because I admire the fact that he actually practices the things he teaches about. He's gone out and made documentaries that have been shown on TV and can be bought in video stores. He's not famous, per se, but he's gone out and done things that I'd like to someday do. And he also loves classic rock, so we could just go on talking about that, hehe!

So yeah, there's a bit of a friendship between us. Nothing beyond teacher-student, which is just fine, but it still tends to make me a little embarrassed at how noticeable it is.

Anyway, I was walking into the Comm building today because we had our Intro to Images final. And who should I see upon walking through the main doors but my professor. "Amber, where were you on Wednesday?" he asked. I started to explain to him what had happened (my French final project being due, and the fact that all 4 group members could only meet again at that particular time), but he was on his way out to have a cigarette before class, so he told me to come outside with him. He totally understood my reason for not being there (though he told me I should have called him to let him know...hehe...oops). But then he was like, "Do you have the paper that was due on Wednesday?"

In reality, I hadn't gotten that written. But I'd already done enough wrong stuff and I didn't want him getting irritated with me, so I just said yeah I finished it, but I didn't bring it with me. I would have actually written it had I thought he'd let me turn it late, but he'd yelled at the class on Wednesday and told them they couldn't turn things in late anymore.

"Well, that was a pragmatic decision more than anything," he explained, saying that it was the end of the semester and he didn't have time to grade a whole bunch of papers. "But if you could turn that paper in by noon tomorrow...and how about the one I asked you to write about the music videos? Do you have that done?"

"On paper," I said hesitantly, "but my computer had died so I didn't get to type it up." That, basically, was the truth. My computer really HAD died on me, and it was the night before the assignment was due, so I'd decided to just take responsibility for not having it done and...well, not turn it in. I never asked him for an extension, never asked for any special favors because I didn't deserve any. But the guy told me I could turn BOTH papers in by tomorrow at noon!

Oh yeah, Mel had a good laugh over that one. I felt all sheepish again, like he was giving special exceptions on my account. But I typed and printed those things out as soon as I got back, and ran them down to him. So I feel better about that. He's such a laid-back sort of guy, I feel bad because the students were definitely taking advantage of him this semester.

Anyway, that's the end of that story! I'm sure I'll never hear the end of it from Mel ("I was walking and I saw your yellow coat, and then I saw him and I was like, 'Maaan!'") but hey, what's life without a few anecdotes, right? ;)

Jess and I tried to study for our Psych final tomorrow, but neither of us were feeling it. I'm just so tired, and all I want to do is go to bed right now. But I can't, because I have to pack up all my stuff for vacation! Well, not ALL of it, of course, but all the stuff that I'll be wanting to take home! I feel bad, because my mom's really sick (not sure what she has, but I'm hoping it's not the flu), and she has to drive out to Harrisburg tomorrow to meet Cat and I. I'm going to try calling Gee-oh-free tonight to ask if maybe he'd come out there instead. That would be a huge favor to ask of him, though, so I'm a little afraid to do it. But the worst he can say is no, and I'm so used to him saying no that it doesn't bother me as much anymore!

The Backstreet Boys were on Oprah today! It was so weird seeing them on a show again, since they've been out of the spotlight for...how many years has it been? Not that many, I know--probably like a year or two--but it just feels like it's been forever. I'd gotten a little cynical toward them in the past year (probably Geoff's influence, heh), but seeing them on TV got me all excited like a teenybopper, LOL! I'll be interested to hear their new album (VH1 told me that they're going back to the recording studio in January). I'm hoping that they'll come back not quite as popular as they were at first, simply because the teeny-ness of it all really got on my nerves. But hey, we'll see what happens!

I hope that I'm not coming down with anything. I've got this soreness that's kinda in my sinuses (it's not the back of my throat, but nor is it the roof of my mouth...I think it's up further), and I wasn't really able to completely enjoy my Chinese food because somehow that soreness was affecting it. I know, this isn't making any sense, hehe...But yeah, the last thing I need is to get sick. If I am, however, I hope it doesn't kick in 'til after I've gotten home so that way I'll be all comfortable!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!