Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Documentaaation
Written on Saturday, Nov. 22, 2003 at 2:41 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Last night I went to see "Tomb Raider 2" with Mike and Lydia. Actually, it was supposed to be a Phi Sig Pi "social," but not that many people showed up. Actually, it was just me, Mike, Denise, and Ashley, but we didn't all sit together so it didn't count anyway! Ah well, I'm not a part of the points system yet, so I don't have to worry about it!

As I came down the stairs, Mike and Lydia were waiting outside. I've never met Lydia before, but she's Mike's best friend and he'd said something to me before about wanting me to meet her. Apparently, our personalities are exactly alike. So at any rate, as I got to the bottom of the stairs I heard Mike call out, "Look, it's the Phi Sigma Sigma wannabe!" :P After I'd gotten there he stepped back, gestured to Lydia, and introduced us by saying that we were exactly alike. I can't say I've ever been introduced like that before, hehe! I didn't get to talk to her much last night, so I don't know how much alike we are. Though at one point in the movie, our brains were definitely all on the same wavelength. There's this one part of the movie where it suddenly looks as though the channel has been flipped to the Discovery Channel. The transition was really bad in that section. Anyway, Mike made a comment about that, and just as I was about to make some kind of quip (like a documentarist's voice), Lydia did the exact same thing. So maybe we are of a kind. :P

The only bad part about last night is the fact that I was supposed to be at a mandatory floor meeting at 9 o'clock in my dorm. Meanwhile, the movie started at 8. I had planned to just leave at 9 and watch the rest of the movie on Saturday night, but um...yeah. I kinda forgot that it's not so easy to just get up in the middle of a movie and leave. :P So I didn't go to the meeting, and as a result I think I'm gonna get documented. Oops. *blush* Oh well, it's not like those things are all that serious anyway. You have to get 3 of them to have anything really major happen, and it's not very likely that I'll be getting two more of them!

Tonight was another "hey, they're doing something on campus so everyone who's interested get together" type of social. I'm not a fan of these. I'd rather have a "let's get together at someone's apartment" social because a)More people show up, and b)They're more conducive to socializing. But we're having one of those on December 1st, yay!

So anyway, tonight's "social" was the dance concert. I hadn't really been interested in seeing it, but it was a chance to hang out with folks so I went. And besides that, my friend Miranda was in it (the last dance of the show, heh), so I went to support her as well. So Lisa H, Maryam and I met up for dinner, and then we met Jackie and Mike in the snack shop. I think that was the first time I actually had a group meal here on campus before...Well, I had one wayyyy back at the beginning of last year with Kristen, but as far as my friends go it's always been just me and maybe one or two other people. Because I never had that many friends before. I still don't have a whole LOT right now, but I'm not into the quantity thing anyway! Still, it's nice to have a large group of friends that you're actually comfortable around.

The dance concert itself was pretty disappointing. The first dance was really good, but then again that's probably because it looked like a late 50's-early 60's style of dance, hehe! Actually, I kept getting the feeling that Annette and Frankie would be running out on the stage at any moment...The rest of the dances really weren't all that great, though. The last one right before intermission was some kind of hip hop thing done to--of course--rap music, and of course I couldn't stand that one. I tried to look at it objectively and just see the dance for what it was, but there really wasn't any talent to it. Anyone can shake their ass. I can do that. Maybe someone should hire me for their rap video. I mean yeah, I might be a little bigger than they'd like, but I've got a big chest, small waist, and nice rounded hips, so stick me in one of their slutty outfits and I could totally shake my ass for them.

Thankfully, I have more self-dignity than that.

During intermission, Jackie leaned over Mike to say something to Carley (who was on my right side, and therefore three seats away from Jackie). Mike was like, "Do you want to sit on me?" so I started belting out a certain Monty Python song ("Sit on my faaaaace, and tell me that you love me..."). I only sang the first line, but Mike immediately picked it up and sang the entire thing! Then he went on to "The Penis Song" (another MP song), and I was giggling. Jackie looked at me and said, "Amber, you're just encouraging him! Stop laughing!" So I attempted to stop giggling...but finally I couldn't help myself and belted out the last few lines with him. LOL, Jackie was like, "You're as crazy as he is!"

"Yep," Mike agreed, "that's why I'm her adoptive big!"

I was really put out with one dance because they used the song "War" but not the original version. It was some bland, jazz-ish version instead. Kristen tried saying the change was because they wanted to show war as being more melancholy, rather than all upbeat like the original song is. However, the original version isn't trying to be upbeat. It's an angry song...y'know, a protest song. Yeah, it's got a catchy rhythm to it, but it's definitely not supposed to be happy.

Some other girl decided to dance to this "song" by Eminem that I swear sounded EXACTLY like that one from 8 Mile, but instead of making up real music, he just used Aerosmith's "Dream On" instead. It would've been one thing if he'd like redone the song or something, because artists do that all the time. But it was the original song, and I just wanted to scream out "Blasphemy!" or something. I'll admit to liking that 8 Mile song (and yes, at one time I knew the title, but I can't think of it right now), but then again I didn't hear him ripping off some other song, either. At least, no song that I've ever heard.

Sorry, this isn't supposed to be a rap-trashing entry. Y'all know I hate it, I don't need to go in-depth, hehe...

The song Miranda danced to was called "Fever Nights" (though it was actually a remake of the Bee Gee's "Night Fever"). Of course, since she was one of the only people I knew, I focused on her for the entire thing. But she was really good. She's been dancing all her life, pretty much, and she can do Irish step dancing and all of that nifty stuff. But she really got into the moves and stuff, and you could tell she was enjoying it. I was hoping to be able to see her after it was all over, but she was nowhere to be found! So I made Mike come up to my dorm instead, because he kept asking me where my roommate was. :P

Introductions in that department were a little awkward for me, because Kristen's so prudish about certain things, and Mike's like me (when I'm not around her, lol). He made a comment about how most people think Phi Sig Pi folks are all a bunch of boring people because we're an academic fraternity, and really "we're all drunks!" (which isn't really completely true, hehe) You could tell Kristen wasn't very into that comment. X_X Overall, I think she found him to be funny--if a bit odd--but yeah, I was in constant "change the subject!" mode.

He wants a copy of my initiate journal. I have never met anyone who was that fanatical about my writing. I mean, if my writing was really THAT good, I'd have like hundreds of people linking to this diary, right? Still, it's nice to have a few fans. ;)

I'm so happy! Only a few more days and I'll have my laptop back again! Then I won't have to use AIM Express anymore, and I'll be able to talk to people whenever I want for as long as I want...ah yes, my Internet addiction will be fed again. *giggles* It's such an unhealthy thing, loving zee Internet...

Okay, going now.

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!