Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: French class sucks.
Written on Thursday, Nov. 20, 2003 at 12:23 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Have I mentioned that I hate my French professor? Well, I do. I got a B+ on the exam I took on Friday, and meanwhile Katie got an A-. Under the 'pronunciation' category, I got the same note to 'watch my r's', and I'm telling you I seriously think she mixes the two of us up. I always do the throaty r thing, whereas I've never once heard Katie do it. I'm not saying my accent is super stellar or anything (because it's woefully American), but Katie's is just as bad, if not worse! Yet because the French professor knows I don't care much for her, she gives me lower grades. Or maybe she gives me lower grades because I don't participate enough in class. I know it's not because she knows I can do better, because she's not the kind of professor that urges her students to do their best. Rather, she mocks those who don't speak very well. And I'm not just referring to myself, I'm talking about the other kids in there who don't speak so well.

It's not that a B is bad. It's just that I've never gotten anything lower than an A in French, ever since high school. It's a shame that my first B will be due to a professor who doesn't even really know the language herself. Seriously. You'd crack up if you were there. People will be like, "How do you say [insert whatever word here]?" One or two times out of ten, she'll actually know the word. Otherwise, she just says, "Ohh, je ne sais pas," and then quite obviously makes something up. So you just KNOW that if you went to France and said this word, they'd laugh at you.

SO glad I'm not taking any more classes with her.

Thanksgiving break is less than a week away! Granted, it's only 5 days long (and since I'm going home with Cat, I don't even get to go back early), but that's better than nothing! I can't wait to just relax. Well, I'll be hanging out with Lola at some point (!!!!), but other than that it'll mostly just be me relaxing!

Kristen and I looked at apartments again yesterday, and we found one place that's a little too far for my liking, but I guess it's still within walking distance...and unless it's too expensive/scummy, we'll probably end up taking it...assuming we can get a hold of the landlord! Hehe...right now, we're playing phone tag. It'll be so exciting to have our own place! I can't wait to learn how to cook, hee hee! And as an added bonus, I'm going to sign up for all the Phi Sig Pi initiate activities next year, so they'll have to come to my place just as my class had to walk around to everyone's apartments. Bwe he he he...

Mel invited me over to her place on Friday night, and Lisa and Cathy (twin sisters) invited me to the bar on Saturday night. Then there's the Phi Sig Pi meeting on Sunday night, so my weekend has something exciting every night! ^_^ Mark this as a first, eh?

Alright. Tomorrow, I will drag my butt to the Rec Center and start exercising again. If any of you see me online tomorrow between 8 and 9, yell at me and tell me to go exercise! Otherwise, I'll just keep procrastinating, and without those outdoor initiate activities, I really don't have much by way of physical activity! *sigh* I want to be thinner...

Okay, going to bed now! I just spent the past several hours working on my Writing for Media assignment, so I'm dead tired. 'Course, it's my fault for waiting 'til the last minute, but that's just my way!

By the by, as soon as I get my laptop back, I will be brainstorming ideas for a new layout. Because the colors are getting on my nerves now. Oh well, I really liked the concept when it was still in my head! If anyone has a sexy picture of 60's/70's era Robert Plant that would look good in a layout, send it my way. *giggles* No guaranteeing I'll be able to do anything with it, but I'd certainly enjoy gazing at it!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!