Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: You're my brotherrrrr...
Written on Friday, Nov. 14, 2003 at 11:39 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

I am now officially a brother of Phi Sig Pi. *beams* 'Course, I can't talk about the ceremony itself, 'cause that's all secret and hush-hush and all that, but the entire night was just so much fun. After the ritual itself was over (no hazing! Not that I expected there to be, hehe, but the word 'ritual' just makes it sound like we got hit with paddles, lol), I had to pause for a moment to let it all sink in.

And then Steph, the president and my great-great grandbig gave me my first shirt with letters! *laughs* I know, it probably seems like such a dumb thing just to want a shirt that has Greek letters on it, but it was so awesome! I'm going to wear them today. ^_^

The thing I love about these guys is that they're all so down to earth and genuine. I even love my initiate advisor now, whereas before I was really wary of her because she reminded me so much of Mel (the one I talked about in much older entries, not the new one). I think she's really opened up toward us in the past couple of weeks, though, and she's definitely someone I'd want to hang out with. So basically, there really isn't anyone that I greatly dislike in this group, which I definitely couldn't say about that sorority I almost joined last year! Every time I think about how I was almost in that, I cringe.

Anyway, after the ritual itself we all took lots of pictures, exchanged gifts (everyone LOVED the paddle I made; now I wish I'd taken a picture of it!), and then it was time for the new class to present all of our stuff. We had to present a collage, a banner, a skit, and the two fraternity songs. Quite a lot of stuff to do! It was my first time actually seeing the banner, since I'd left early the night everyone was working on it, but it's AWESOME. It's huge (we bought a twin-sized sheet to put everything on, so it was literally like a banner, hehe), but you can tell there was a lot of effort put into it. Our first fraternity song went REALLY well, and we had everyone laughing. But the second song was by far the best. This is the song I got SO sick of this week, because the other girls insisted we sing it like 10 times in a row one night. But for our actual 'performance,' we got white taper candles, turned off the lights, and just sang really beautifully (for a bunch of girls who can't sing so well, anyway!). Erin, the Vice President, told us afterward that she'd almost gotten teary-eyed during it! I have to admit that the candles really added to the effect.

Great job, girls!! :D

Mike (a guy from the class before ours) came up to me during the gift-exchanging thing and reverently handed my initiate journal back to me. He'd seen me a couple of nights ago and told me that he had it (they all had to read it at Final Vote), and that he wanted to give it to me personally because it was so great. He really liked the way that I wrote my entries (I guess they were more interesting than the others, LOL), and after a pause he'd said, "It should be published." I know it sounds stupid, but my writing is the one thing for which I always love hearing praise, so his comments gave me the warm fuzzies. ^_^ And last night when he handed it back, he was like, "Here's your bible...guard it with your life! And if you don't want it, then give it to me!" Hehehe...

There was a party afterward at Big Mike's apartment (I'm going to have to add to my cast list, hehe), but only a few of the new class went. Dangit, it's 11:30 and I have to start getting ready soon! Oh well, I'll write as much as I can and add to it afterwards! Anyway, 5 of us were there, but the other 5 stayed at home for various reasons. In Kim's case, I think it was because she's like a mini grandmother and wasn't into this kind of thing. But the rest of us had a blast. Mike (the one who gave my journal back) was definitely feeling good, hehe...He had to get pictures of himself with all the girls there, which was amusing. At one point, he said he needed to go out back for a cigarette so I offered to go with him (because he couldn't walk straight, lol), so he took my hand and we went out the back door. Unfortunately, I'd forgotten my coat and it had been snowing all day, which meant it was still really cold out. I was okay for the first...oh, 5 seconds or so, but then I started shivering. "Aw, I'm sorry!" he apologized, hugging me to him. That was awfully nice, not just because it kept me warmer, but because no guy's ever actually done that for me before. :P We stood outside for about 5 minutes like that, and at one point he was like, "Please don't tell Kim this, but I really wish you were my little instead of her!" That was cute. To be honest, I kinda wish things were switched, too, because he and I seem to have more in common! But ah well, Heather's still great, I just don't know her very well. :P

Anyway, blah blah, I know I'm boring you all. ;) I think I'll finish all this later, so come back and check this entry later today 'cause there might be more below this! *giggles*

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!