Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: What a blast!
Written on Wednesday, Nov. 12, 2003 at 11:26 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Oh. Man.

Tonight, I had the most fun that I have EVER had on this campus before. And all it took was a mob scene and some dirty humor!

Dustin Diamond (aka "Screech" from "Saved By The Bell" for those of you not in the know) visited our dinky little college campus tonight. The event was scheduled to be in our Student Center's multipurpose room, which is more than adequate for most events held here. Most of the time, you're lucky to get about 100 people to show up to anything. In fact, I was just complaining to Mel tonight that it disgusts me how little school spirit this place has. So anyway, she and I had to hang around the Comm building for about 45 minutes because Jamie was in a meeting, but we figured we'd have plenty of time to get seats.

HA!

I went straight to the Student Center while Jamie and Mel had to run to the library to drop something off. There was a line that ran ALL the way down the stairs and into the bottom floor, and apparently there was another line at the top of those stairs that stretched all the way out into the street. All of this for a guy who hasn't really made waves since he was the little dork on a children's sitcom. My jaw would have been on the floor, had I been a cartoon (or someone with a detachable jaw and really flexible skin). At any rate, I met up with Jamie and Mel a bit later, because they'd somehow squeezed in closer to the front of this massive line. We were with Jamie's boyfriend Paul and Josh, who's one of the brothers in my fraternity. I guess we'd been standing there for about 10 minutes (well, I was there for more like 15 or 20), and we were getting close to the doors when all of a sudden no one else was being allowed in. Apparently it was a fire hazard to have so many people packed into one room. Mel slipped in a side door and we all followed suit, and were just about to take a seat on the floor when Paul got some 'inside info' that the whole thing was being moved to another auditorium (a much larger one). I didn't realize that this was factual information, so I was hesitant to leave...and as a result, we didn't get out right away. Added to that was the fact that one of the advisors was blocking the exit, telling people they weren't allowed to leave (because they had to get Dustin over to the other venue). Thankfully, I'm friends with a group of clever kids, so we just went out a different door and then took an alternate route.

We thought we'd be the first ones out, but all of a sudden there came a bunch of people from the outdoor stairway beside us. Josh took off running (that boy almost literally flew, he went so fast), and that set everyone else off running. I actually began running too, my coat coming off my shoulders and my purse banging against my thigh as I tried to keep a grip on it. Not being athletically inclined, it didn't take me long to get winded, but I was too afraid to stop. You know the mosh pit horror stories, where one person trips and falls and gets trampled to death? I was afraid if I stopped running, the people behind me would just bowl me over and keep on going. I eventually had to walk for a few seconds, but it didn't take me long to speed up again.

Let me reiterate that I have never seen the students of this college get so revved up about something. I mean, I was afraid they'd end up mobbing the UAB advisor when she got up (in the multipurpose room) to thank them for coming!

So anyway, there we all are running, like some scene out of "A Hard Day's Night", and I was having the time of my life. I've never been a part of anything like that before! I know it seems really tame to a lot of you, but the energy that was in the air was just unreal! And again, this was all over a guy who was once in a cheesy sitcom and is now in some band nobody's heard of!

I made it into the auditorium, my lungs and throat burning painfully, and Josh bellowed out to me to catch my attention. After collecting the others (who hadn't been able to keep up with us), we took a seat in the middle of the auditorium, all of us breathless with laughter (and exertion, hehe).

The show was well worth the wait. Not to those who'd be offended by 'potty humor' (like my roommate, who thankfully decided not to go), but to those who don't mind it, it was a great show. He wasn't like really vulgar or anything, he just liked talking about stuff that usually no one talks about (but, as he pointed out, we all do). I don't know, I just really really enjoyed the show, and if I'd had money (and if his little table hadn't been mobbed by people), I definitely would have gone to get a picture.

I'd elaborate, but Kristen needs her computer back to write a paper.

This was definitely something that I had to share, though! While I'm disgusted with the poor planning on the part of our University Activities Board, I wouldn't mind doing that running thing again! ;) Especially since the show was so awesome!

He'll be making the circuit on the Howard Stern show, MTV, and stuff like that, so make sure you keep a lookout for him. ;)

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!