Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Mental Health Day
Written on Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2003 at 2:51 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

My alarm rang at 6:30 this morning, and I was so tired that it took me several moments to even realize what was going on. Meanwhile, my roommate had woken up and was probably about to climb out of the bed to turn HER alarm off, because she'd panicked that maybe she'd slept through the CD alarm and it went straight to a buzzer. Wow, what a run-on. Anyway, I sat there in bed weighing my options, and I realized: I really didn't feel like going to this thing. First off, I'm sure a field trip like this will be organized again in the two years that I'm still here, and if it's not...well, I plan on interning at a television station anyway. One way or another, I'll definitely get to see the inside of a real TV station. My second reason for not wanting to go was that I dislike all the girls who were going. Why do I want to spend an entire day somewhere when the only person I actually don't mind being around is Bill? It would've been me smushed into the back of a car, crowded to the back of our group, completely ignored in both cases...Needless to say, I wasn't interested in going through that. I get ignored by everyone else on the planet; I'm not going to purposely put myself into a situation like that.

And then the chief reason was the fact that I just needed a day to SLEEP and catch up on work. I am so behind with stuff that it's not even funny. I need to write up a rough draft for a feature article (that should've been due last week), and then immediately thereafter I need to work on revising it and making it into a better copy. I also need to write up a paper for Psychology, all about some person I saw at the Autumn Leaf Festival (I'm using myself for that, since I didn't actually go to ALF)...and then there are various other little things that need to be done...like LAUNDRY. As soon as I get a shower today, I'm heading down to the laundry room to accomplish that task.

I feel a little guilty about making those guys wait down there for me; Bill even got the Comm Department secretary to call me. I'm going to tell him...well, yes, I'm going to have to give a bitty fib as the main reason, but I'm going to tell him (finally) that I'm not at all interested in being a part of NBS anymore...at least, not this year. I would have forced myself to go if he'd had to pay for me or anything, but the tour was free and we were supposed to bring our own money for food anyway. So the only inconvenience I gave them was having to wait around 15 minutes for me. I'm only sorry in the case of Bill though, ha ha...I couldn't give a fig about those other girls. Snobby old things!

Yesterday, Kristen took a look at the apartment we've been interested in. Her friend is living there currently, but neither Kristen nor I have actually seen it. I couldn't go with her because of my French test, but she said that if she liked it she'd take me to see it some other time. Her judgment is sound, so I know that if she didn't like it, there's not much chance I would have liked it either! But she came back quite enthusiastic about the whole thing. Apparently, this place is really cute. I'd been expecting that maybe it would look dumpy on the outside, but be really cozy inside...but apparently it's nice to look at both on the outside AND the inside! The whole thing is furnished, and the only thing we'd have to bring is a microwave. It's around $1475 a semester, including all utilities except cable/phone/internet (which is normal). The price is a leetle more inflated than I'd like (though still much cheaper than living in the dorms), but at the same time it's on a street that apparently is really sought after.

The only thing keeping us from being 100% into this is the fact that one of us would HAVE to have a car. Not only to go out grocery shopping, but also to get to the laundromat. Kristen said she's going to try to convince her parents to let her get one this summer, and Mom had already told me that she'd see what could be done after January, but there's no guarantee for either of us. And we're going to have to make up our minds soon, because...next month, I think, the landlady is going to start showing the rooms. I know we probably shouldn't sign a lease without knowing whether we'll have a car, but at the same time we both really want to do this!

I'm really excited about it. It'll be the first opportunity to really live on my own, since the dorms are kind of like assisted living for young folks, lol! Kristen and I were talking about being able to cook our own meals and such, and in a really odd way that's exciting! I envision a lot of unedible stuff at first, hee hee...

Anyway, Kevin is back, so I'm going to go talk to him! He's been sick ever since...well, Friday technically, but he went home on Saturday and Amanda and I were worried about him for the past two days. But he's back now, yay! Still sick, but not as bad, thankfully.

OH! Does anybody know if Ray Thomas left The Moody Blues? I checked their website yesterday to see if they'd finally updated it, and it's COMPLETELY redone...but the only pictures at the top are of John, Justin, and Graeme! What happened to Ray? This is a travesty. But if he's no longer in the band, I'm not going to worry about missing their concert in my hometown. Ha ha... :P

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!