Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: And the forests will echo with laughter
Written on Monday, Oct. 13, 2003 at 5:31 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Today, thankfully, didn't feel so hopeless. I got up at 9 and had enough time to eat breakfast at the dining hall, run down to the registrar building to pick up a class withdrawal form, and had enough time left over to work a bit on a paper and print out another one! So that made me feel less harried and stressed. Then just before French class, I ran up to talk to my advisor. Hehe...that was an interesting experience. My advisor is a native of France, and she's still got the accent. But she's so funny! Which is why I didn't feel bad going in to talk about my less-than-cool professor.

"You need to know what classes to take?" she inquired.

"No, actually I was thinking about...dropping the course." I felt uncomfortable talking too loudly, since right down the little hallway was my professor's office. She was definitely within earshot. But I continued, "I don't want to sound spiteful, but"--here I dropped my voice considerably and pointed in the direction of her office--"it's because of her."

I told the story about how she mocked me in class when I tried to ask a question, and how I would not take another class with her as the professor, and my advisor was about to continue when she looked at the door and mouthed for me to close it. Hee hee...Then she said that my professor is going on sabbatical, so I'd only need to take next semester off. "When do you ever see her outside of class?"

"Never."

"So you don't have to worry that she'll ask you why you aren't taking her short story course," my advisor said. "And if she does ask, just say, 'Oh, my schedule is too busy.'" That cracked me up. I'd been afraid she'd take the professor's side, saying that I'm being unreasonable and not giving her a chance, blah blah. Maybe she's had complaints about this woman before.

At any rate, the mini meeting went very well. I'm going to take next semester off (French class-wise), and then next year my professor will be gone and I'll quickly smoosh in all the necessary classes for my minor. I only need...2 more, I think? Or maybe it's 3 more. I'm not sure. At any rate, I should be able to squeeze them in before The Professor From Hell returns.

"Just don't throw in the towel yet," my advisor said, and we both laughed.

I really didn't want to give up my minor. I love the language too much to let it go. But I will NEVER take another class with this woman again.

Anyway, I have to go meet Amanda and Kevin for dinner, and then it's TV and Phi Sig Pi stuff. Maybe I'll write again after all that. :P

And by the way, Jam, you're such a cheeky thing! *grins*

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!