Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Are you having fun yet?
Written on Saturday, Oct. 04, 2003 at 12:44 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Alright, kiddies, Aunt Amber has another drinking lesson for you, and that would be NOT to drink beer of any sort (y'know, like Smirnoff or Bacardi Silver) and copious amounts of Baja Luna, interspersed with Jello shots. While you might think you're having one hell of a fun time, it soon happens that you're slumped in the bathroom, feeling as though your insides are being viciously ripped out.

I haven't stopped mentally kicking myself all day. I went to the TV crew party at Kyle and Matt's house last night, riding with Jamie and Melissa (and Jamie's boyfriend, who was our DD). Matt, it turns out, decided to go to the bar so I didn't see him there. But there were others from the station there, and we were all just hanging out and talking and such. I hadn't had time beforehand to go to the six-pack shop, so I thought it would be okay to grab some stuff from the Wine & Spirits Shoppe instead.

HA HA HA! No.

Don't get me wrong, I had a hilarious time while it was happening, but if I was able to go back in time and do it all over again? Yeah, I would have taken my two lonely bottles of leftover Smirnoff and kept it at that. I can't believe how sick I became, and I can't understand how people do crap like that on a regular basis! I mean, Mom and Geoff have both said that eventually a tolerance is built up, but I really don't want to have to drink that much often enough to build such a tolerance. In fact, I never want to think about alcohol again. I had to run in the bathroom again this afternoon when Mel was taking my leftover bottles out of my "gay brown bag" because the thought of that alcohol was nauseating.

I ended up crashing at Mel's apartment last night because I was so sick. And I was so embarrassed, being sick in someone else's bathroom. She came in at one point and held my hair back away from my face, and later on she brought in a glass of water for me, but thankfully for the most part I was just left to my own devices. I didn't exit that room until about 6:30 in the morning, and it hasn't been 'til about the last hour that I've felt okay enough to even stand. I'm thirsty as all get out, but I can't drink water because it upsets my stomach. I've been drinking the Sprite that Jess gave me, and while on the phone with Geoff I walked down to the first floor and bought a bottle of Sierra Mist and Fruit Works. What I'd really love, however, is some ginger ale. Even though I don't like the stuff normally, right now I just have some weird craving for it.

Ignoring the hangover parts, I have to say that I am glad I went last night. It gave me a chance to get to know some of the TV folks outside of the work setting...and I was shocked when the one kid (who I always passed off as a little ass) actually knew my name and was talking to me! Most of the people didn't stay that long because they decided to go to a frat party instead, so those of us remaining played a rousing game of "Bullshit" (the card game...apparently, there's a word game with that title too, hehe). That was about the time that Kyle stopped drinking, but the rest of us kept going. I definitely lost, though we didn't finish the game. :P I think I had like half the deck by the end!

At one point, I walked up to Kyle and fluffed his hair, then said, "I don't mean this to sound like a come-on, but I really like your hair."

Hehe...He later told me that I'm required to give him an A in that online class because he has blackmail photos of me. I can't wait 'til we get all these photos developed; it should be interesting. I forgot to bring my camera, but I told Mel to get doubles because I want some for my scrapbook, lol...

Back at Mel's apartment, I kept asking her to get me the copy of Rolling Stone with the 100 Greatest Guitarists. Brian May had to be in there, or else it would have been the most worthless list ever. And there he was, at 39! Apparently, I rambled on for ages about Brian May, and Mel and Jamie were laughing hysterically about it. At least I'm fun, right? Heh...

After that was when things turned bad, so I don't feel like talking about that again. Ironically, as I was leaving my room this evening, Lisa (my RA's twin sister and a brother in my fraternity) walked up and asked what I was doing tonight. "I'm sick," I replied, and proceeded to tell the story. "Why, what are you two doing tonight?"

"Going to the bar."

"Ohhhhhhhh no!" I laughed. "I'm not doing THAT again!"

Everyone I've talked to has laughed when I said that I'm never going to do that again. They're all like, "Yeah, right!" And who knows, I've got many good years ahead of me, so it conceivably could happen. But I'm going to try very hard to keep it from NOT happening. Because while it seems like a whole lot of fun at the time, it is most definitely not fun later. And that's more important than those few hours of fun. I mean, I literally spent an entire day between my bed and the toilet. Does that sound like fun?

Most definitely not.

So that's all I have to say about that. Good night, kids!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!