Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Super shoes
Written on Saturday, Sept. 27, 2003 at 10:50 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Cat took me out to Walmart today, and I bought cookie dough. So watch out, TV folks, because you're about to fall in love with me! *laughs*

In even better news, I found myself a pair of running shoes! I was despairing at first, because "Shoe World" was basically just a Payless with a different name. Their shoes sucked, there was like no selection in the "Women With Big Feet" section...I was about to get irritated. But then Cat showed me to the section where they have name-brand sneakers! And 'lo and behold, there were a pair of Adidas sneakers, just begging for me to try them on. Unfortunately, they were in the size-too-small section. So I moved over a step to the right size, and tried on a pair of Nikes. The tag on the shoe's tongue said they were a size 11. But did they fit? No.

Ironically, the only pair that did fit were those Adidas shoes, even though they were labeled as size 10. The box said they were running shoes, and they were marked down to $40 (from the original $60), so I snapped them up. They look very lovely. There are even tiny little reflector-ish thingies on the back! I'm going to be a running fiend by the end of this year. My shins are back to normal after being allowed to rest for over a week (actually, I guess it was more like 2 weeks), my right knee is better now...yeah, all I need to do is find Amanda so she can show me those stretches, and I'll be all set!

Mmm, I made myself a cup of chamomile green tea, and as I plunked the tea bag into the water I quipped to my roommate, "There's nothing like sticking a bag of grass into water and letting it steep." Which made me think: did people ever try making marijuana tea before? *laughs* The only reason I thought of it is because I happened to use the term 'grass', but I am curious! I mean, they smoked it and baked it, why not make a tea out of it as well? I know people had to have tried it before. It's too obvious an idea for some pothead not to have done it.

Cat and I baked some of our cookies tonight (I bought another pack to bake for our room), and while doing that we also did our laundry. I brought down my Writing For Media homework, and finally managed to get that all done. Hehe...Fittingly enough, the TV report was the most fun to do out of all 3 things I had to do for that assignment! See, I was just made to work for television. Not necessarily on-camera, but definitely behind-the-scenes stuff.

I'm glad I got my laundry done today, because that means I'll have more time to get the rest of my homework/studying done tomorrow. I'm still going to have to force myself to get up early, though. And so then I got to thinking that since I have to get up early anyway, I might just go to church. I haven't been to church in years, and I'm not the sort that believes you have to go every single Sunday, but I like to go for a "spiritual recharge" (as I call it) every now and again. Now that I'm starting to somewhat get out of my lazy ways, I guess it's about time to go to church at least somewhat regularly. It's just that the sermons are always so long and dreary, and I tend to feel depressed after it's all over! :P Then again, the only church I've ever been to is the Southern Baptist one that's like a quarter of a mile (if that) up the road from my grandmother's old house. I heard Southern Baptist is big into the 'fire and brimstone' thing, though I wouldn't know as I have nothing with which to base a comparison. But my parents are both Methodist, and since there's a Methodist church right up the street, I'll probably go to that tomorrow. Kristen goes to the Baptist church nearby, but I don't want to go with other people. For some odd reason, I don't like going to church with people. I like being by myself.

So yeah, that's my goal for tomorrow. I'm not telling anyone about it, though, just in case I either give in to laziness and decide not to go. LOL...And I don't want my roommate to make a big deal out of it. You already know how contrary I get when people make a big thing out of my decisions, Diary.

Jess and I still have to get out to ALF and observe people, hehe...Today was dreary and cold and rainy, so neither of us were much inclined to go out. We'll have to do it this week, though, or else just make up something! I'll probably go out 2 or 3 times, but I never seem to have the luck of finding those oddities, so most likely I'll wind up creating some story anyway. But at least I will have tried first!

Urgh, stupid AIM! Trying to tell me that I'm attempting to sign in again too soon...IT was the one trying to sign me in again! I didn't even press any buttons! But apparently the Internet is down again, because MSN was disconnected as well. I'm telling you, Alltel is like the worst company I've ever been with (other than Gateway)! The Internet goes down at least once a week, and at the beginning of the year it was down for several days! I realize they can't keep it going perfectly all the time, but sometimes it just gets ridiculous. Still, I guess it's better to have Internet most of the time than not at all, right? Oh, there's MSN again. So I guess everything's okay.

I wonder if the radio station has the "Chevy Van" song. I'm thinking about playing it tomorrow and then asking people to call in and tell me where I can find a VW bus (that works). Heehee...The powers of radio go far. And since it's just a little weekend show on a college campus, I can afford to say that one little thing. :P Augh, I've got that song stuck in my head now! I might just have to download it. *giggles*

The Moody Blues are going to be in my hometown in November. It's going to be during the week, too, so I probably won't be able to go! It makes me sad, because Ray Thomas will most likely be there for that concert, and I want to see a Moodies concert complete with Ray! I still can't believe I dreamt he wasn't going to be at the last one, and then he wasn't...that was freaky. If I had a car, I could probably somehow manage to drive down early Tuesday morning, and then drive back on Wednesday, early enough that I'd only miss my Math class. But, as we all know, Amber does not have her own car. Thus, she'd have to enlist someone to drive her home and back again. And honestly, who would want to do that? *sighs* Last year, they stopped by West Virginia...and I probably could have paid Cat to drive me there. But of course they're not playing there this year! Woe is me!

Alright, enough of the whining. I'm going to go see about starting Monday's playlist, so I'm not overwhelmed with stuff tomorrow. Sounds like a good idea, right?

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!