Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Part Deux
Written on Monday, Sept. 22, 2003 at 10:25 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

My body and I, for at least the past 11 years of my life (if not all 22), have had an understanding. That understanding was laziness.

My body is putting up one hell of a fight against being pushed into activity. It just doesn't like this nightly routine of going to the gym. But guess what: TOO BAD!

I just felt like mocking my lazy body. :P

The other night, Kristen went around the 2nd and 3rd floors sticking up small squares of paper with various religious messages on them. Some of them were harmless and said, "Smile, Jesus Loves You" (though I think she had more written underneath), but a few of them started with "Repent and be baptized." In her mind, she was doing something good (though she had to sneak around to do it, so no one would catch her).

However, I've heard complaints all over the place from girls who've had these messages tacked to their doors. Jess was one of those people, but I didn't tell her who it was that had done the "run-by sticking." Nor did I tell Kristen about all the complaints, because besides possibly hurting her, she'd get all righteous and say that those people are stupid for being offended by God.

And yeah, I consider myself to be a spiritual person, and I have no problems with people talking about their religion, but I really don't think Kristen did the right thing. I always thought religion was supposed to be a sort of humbling thing, a realization that we're not perfect but we can strive to be as good as possible. Kristen's taken her religion and completely turned it around, acting as though she's more pure and more perfect than those who aren't as devout as she. And it's great that she's all gung-ho for God, but I really don't agree with the way she acts about it. Thank goodness she hasn't tried the holier-than-thou act with me.

There are people in this dorm who don't believe in God. Or who are a different religion, such as Jewish. Even though I believe in God, I still don't want other people pushing their own religion onto me, and I'm sure that's what most of the girls felt Kristen was doing. Kristen only thought about the good she was doing, not that it was going to offend people.

I don't know. I'm not going to tell her about the complaints, unless she tries doing something like this again. I'm glad that she loves God, and I'm glad I have such a moral roommate...but she has so much left to learn about the way the world works.

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!