Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Stranded at the Walmart
Written on Friday, Sept. 19, 2003 at 9:11 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

So I went to the Rec Center, and was just approaching the sidewalk leading there when I spied Amanda walking out. So much for trying to work out with her! *sniffles* Still, I got 25 minutes on the elliptical (I could do a full half hour, but it's so fraggin' boring), then I did one lap around the track (because it's kind of dizzying for me when I first get off that machine, so I need to re-stabilize myself, hehe)...and then I went to the weight room all by myself! Aren't you proud of me? :P I figured I might as well go down, since it was a Friday (which means everyone went home). There were a few girls down there when I started, so I used one of the arm machines, the "torso twisty" machine, the two whore machines, and one for my legs. But there were guys around, and one of them was Neil from the TV station, so I felt kinda awkward. It was still a good workout, though! 45 minutes, which is one of my longer days.

In an effort to eat up some time before my Weekly Talk With Gee-off, I decided to go to Walmart after all. So I took a quick shower (using a showercap for the first time, too! Wowwwww...), changed back into the clothes I'd been wearing pre-workout, and headed down to the bus stop. LOL...I typed 'bust stop' at first. That would be interesting...

Anyway. My intentions at the mall had been to look for a pair of running shoes, find a pair of jeans, and get an envelope so I can mail that thing I found for Geoff. Fashion Bug's clothes have gone all to hell. All their jeans (on the 'plus' side, at least) were stretch denim, and stretch denim has GOT to be the most godawful stuff on the planet. What's the point of it? As far as I can tell, the only people that might look okay wearing it are skinny folks...'cause if you're fat, it's just going to cling to your rolls like Spandex. It's gross. And I hate it. So I walked out of there feeling rather disgruntled, and instead bought my envelope (and a pad of paper with this REALLY cute puppy on each page, hehe)..and that came out to a little over 2 dollars. Oooo... X_X I almost bought a doorbell at Claire's, because I know Kristen had wanted one too. The girls at the end of our hall have one that's in the shape of a star, and when you push it it makes this tinkling sound, like a cartoon star falling! I'd like to have that one. But they had a cute butterfly one there...I didn't get it, though. I figure I'll wait and make Kristen go half with me. ;) I almost bought a little beanie Birthday Bear (CareBear) too! But he was $10 which is ridiculous.

So after that, I decided to skip the shoe-shopping because I wanted to make sure I got the bus when it came back again. I thought it'd be there at 7 or so, but it turns out it was only going to Walmart at that time. Why it wasn't going to stop by the mall, I have no idea. But it pissed me off. So I had to walk all the way down to Walmart, hoping that maybe the bus would be there but knowing it wouldn't...and sure enough, there was no Satan Bus. So I sat myself on the curb. I have no idea what time it was when I finally got there--it was 7:11 when I started walking down there--but I saw the two Erins from my former sorority. The one (who was in my class) looked over and grinned and waved at me, and I know the other Erin knows me...yet they drove off without even offering me a ride! Wenches. To the plank! (It's talk like a pirate day. Just in case you were wondering.)

A couple minutes later, I saw Brandon, who works at the TV station. He didn't notice me on his way in, so I thought to myself, "Well, maybe--just MAYBE--if he sees me on his way out, he'll offer me a ride." That was an even slimmer possibility than with the two Erins. He doesn't know me at all, really, and even if he HAD recognized me he probably wouldn't have offered. I had to give it a shot, though! He walked out about 3 or 4 minutes later, but didn't even glance in my direction. So that idea was shot...and I wasn't going to call out since, after all, we barely know each other.

So I sat back down on the curb, dejectedly resigned to waiting for the bus, whenever it decided to show up. I was just about to slouch over and rest my arms on my knees when I heard someone say, "Hello, Amber!" Looking up, I saw that it was Mary Beth and her husband! She asked how I was, and I said something about waiting for the bus. They almost continued on their way, and then she said, "Are you going back to campus?" When I said yes, they offered me a ride! Woohoo!

Those guys are both super nice. They both went to Clarion, so when I told Adam what hall I live in and then called it the nunnery, he said, "I won't tell you what I used to call it." Mary Beth supplied the name anyway: "The Virgin Vault!" LOL, it was great. See, I would love to be friends with people like them. They're older than me, yet still similar enough in age that I think we'd have a bit in common. Granted, they're both professors and such, so they've probably got some added maturity in that department, but Adam sounds like he'd be a riot to talk to.

All in all, I'm rather glad I got stuck at Walmart tonight! ^_^

Right now, however...it's time to call my man. *grins*

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!