Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: I have the power!
Written on Thursday, Sept. 18, 2003 at 7:41 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

My two classes today sucked. Normally, I don't mind Writing For Media. But my eyes were so swollen that it seriously hurt to keep them open (and they were burning besides), and I was just in a very down mood. I felt bad for Jess, having to hang out with Miss Downer. But I wouldn't have even gone to class if a)We didn't have a workshop in Writing for Media, b)I hadn't skipped Psych on Tuesday, and c)I didn't have to work. So yeah, it was a basically craptastic day. I think my iced raspberry mocha helped a little bit. Caffeine is always good.

Work was fun. I got to go through everyone's assignments (in the web course) and give them grades for the small assignments, which are basically "as long as you do them you get the points" things. After that, I had to email a few people about their files not opening, and I sent out a group email reminding everyone that there's a certain format they have to follow in naming their files. But I was so nice about it that I'd probably get teased by the professor if he knew about it. :P I'm really not very good at being mean, or even stern. I think people are more receptive if you're nice to them. There was a woman once on 20/20 who was teaching other women to brag more, and not to use 'please' or 'may' or any of those words. That made me sick. Why would you just want to order people around like they were soldiers in the army? I think people would respect you more if you respected them...and saying, "Go do this" certainly isn't winning my respect.

But now I'm getting off the topic. Basically, my two hours were spent saving files to folders, giving grades for the first assignment, and making a post on the discussion board...which I didn't have to do, but was encouraged. Turns out, one of the guys taking this course is Kyle, from the TV station! I cracked up when I saw that. So he's my boss at the station, but technically I'm his boss here in this class. Ahhh, he'd better not get on my bad side... ;) Just kidding. He's a sweetheart.

I was surprised at how many of the people taking this course are married and have kids! Well, not all of the married people have kids, but there was one woman who has five kids. And yet she has time to take an online course! You have to give credit to these folks. It's so great to know that they want a second shot at education. A lot of people, after they get married, just give up on college. I almost felt like emailing the married folks and saying, "It's so cool that you're here!" But I refrained. *giggles*

Tonight is a Rec Center night. I probably should have gone last night, in an attempt to work off my emotions. But I definitely needed the rest. I still need it, actually, and I plan to go to bed much earlier than I have been. Ugh, I have a test tomorrow...and despite calling that girl I'm partnered with for the French test, she still has not called me back! I left a message with someone who I guess is her roommate, but goodness knows the girl might have just pretended to write my number down. Well. If I don't hear from her tonight, I'm just going to call my professor tomorrow and say that I have no partner, so dear old professor will have to step in. And I'm not looking forward to that. Maybe I could persuade one of the other kids in the class to come back and just be there so I have someone to chat with. :P Bensy, a kid who's a native French speaker, offered yesterday to go back in and get an A for me. LOL...He's such a great guy. I'm not sure what country he comes from, but he's black, and I know he's not from France so it must be one of those countries that France once colonized. At any rate, I was always afraid to speak in front of him lest he make fun of me for my bad speaking skills. Miranda was completely freaked out when she got partnered with him! But he told her that he'd try to talk the entire time so that she wouldn't have to worry about stumbling around or whatever...and he did such a good job that the professor actually had to tell him to stop so Miranda could talk! He didn't do it because he thought Miranda was unable to speak good French, he did it because he knew she was nervous about doing the test. So yeah, I like dear ol' Bensy now.

I decided to unblock a certain person the other night, just because I hadn't talked to him in awhile (Jam and Lola, you know who he is...it's the Mario guy, hehe). Turns out, he's still as obsessed as ever with finding a girl, and he's still got some kind of notion that he can flirt with me. It was creepy. So yesterday I blocked him again. X_X I know he deserves to be told about his behavior, but really, it's so much easier for me to just block him. No feelings are hurt that way. I told him I was taken, hehehe...

Auuuugh, it's been so gray and miserable today, thanks to Hurricane Isabel's approach! Geoff (who I talked to briefly today) said that it's supposed to be worse out here where I am than it'll be back home! The storms should be here tonight or tomorrow. Wouldn't it be nice if my Math class was canceled? But no, it probably won't be, because my professor is a freak. But I'll tell ya one thing, if the wind is blowing fit to bowl me over, I am not stepping foot outside. I'll call her and tell her she needs to come over and get me herself if she wants me there for that test. :P But hopefully the weather won't be too bad. As much as I'd like to have that class canceled, I don't really want to worry about whether we're all going to be blown away! LOL...as if it'd be that bad...

Okay, going now. Kristen's Bible study starts in a little over half an hour, and she won't be back probably 'til midnight (if not later). So yay, I have the whole evening to myself! Now, if only I'd had that LAST night! XP

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!