Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Is it me?
Written on Tuesday, Sept. 16, 2003 at 4:42 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

I think I'm running wrong.

Marn wrote once that there's a certain way to run, because if you just run on the balls of your feet then you'll end up doing damage...she said it was supposed to be 'heel-toe', and I thought that's what I'd been doing, but...on Friday, my shins were aching (not sharp, stabbing pains; but a persistent aching), and then last night I couldn't even run 4 curves because my shins were hurting so badly. Any tips, folks? Is this something that'll go away, or am I doing something really wrong? I'm not running on the balls of my feet, I know that much, but maybe I'm coming down too flat-footed instead. I don't know. Who ever knew there was a certain way to run? The sad part is, I think I could have made it much more than 4 curves (I only run the curves in the track) had it not been for my shins aching! :

In better news, exercising-wise, I'm up to 20 minutes on the elliptical, and I've started the cross-training course instead of the interval course. Last year, I could barely make it through 15 minutes and eventually went down to 10 minutes. This is only my third week of going to the Rec Center, and yet I'm already seeing results! Grooovy, man. The endorphins tricked me into feeling more slender last night, even though I knew I was no skinnier than before, but it was still a nice feeling. Unfortunately, today when I put on my freshly-laundered jeans, I was reminded that I am still a pudgeball and will need to go to the Rec for the rest of the year if I want to actually see results. Hehe...Ah well, at least it's good for me!

Jess and I skipped Psychology today. *giggles* The silly part of it was that we were actually sitting there in the auditorium, about 10 minutes before class started, and all of a sudden we were both like, "I don't want to be here!" It took like 5 minutes for us to finally decide to go, though. And then I think we were both suffering slightly from guilt, hehe...That's a class we definitely can't skip very often, though. It's not as if we could just read the Dreadfully Dull Psychology Book and be okay on tests, because her exams are half from the book and half from her lectures. Still, it was nice to be out early and have lunch before going down to work for 2 hours.

I had to put seals on a few more of my advisor's books today, but thankfully there weren't nearly as many as there were last week. After that, I had to go through stacks of portfolios that were from spring 2002. The good folders I set aside, because they'd be handed out to students who couldn't afford to buy their own, and then the beat-up ones I had to throw out. It was interesting looking through some of them, especially the ones for Message Design. At any rate, I got to keep a couple of the folders for myself (after taking all the other stuff out of course, hehe), so I made sure to get a few with the nifty plastic display thingies inside. LOL...I'm such a freak when it comes to office supplies, I swear.

I have to run down to 7-Eleven to buy another gallon of milk. *whimpers* My leg muscles are all so sore and weary that the thought of trekking all the way down there makes me want to curl up in a ball and cry "Nooooooo, don't make me go!" But if I want to have cereal in the mornings, I have to go. And I do want cereal in the morning. Because breakfast is good. And people who don't eat breakfast are just silly. Hee hee ;) Well alright, some people just can't eat first thing in the morning, because it makes them ill. I always used to be like that right at the beginning of the school year (when I had to get up at 6 every morning), but after awhile my natural tendency to eat pushed the sickness away. :P I still get slightly sick to my stomach on mornings where I'm going to be spending the whole day with Geoff. It's a nervous sickness, but I still can't really eat breakfast on those days. LOL...now that's silly.

One of those portfolios had this little zipper pouch with some stuff inside that was so hilarious, I couldn't throw it out. So I'm going to find the smallest bubble envelope there is and send the pouch to Geoff. Hehe! When this is all over and we're married, I'll have to make sure I have all this recorded as one of the strangest courtships on record. ;)

Fred left a message on my answering machine saying something about trying to do the playlist for tomorrow, but not knowing...blah blah, I forget what it was he said exactly, but the main part was that he was trying to do tomorrow's playlist. I have no idea what he's thinking. Music Director does Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday! Does he have it in his head that we're doing every other day? Urgh. I know I'm painting him rather blackly here, but he is a nice guy. He just needs to step back, that's all.

This one guy from the TV station, Matt, actually earned a small bit of my respect last night. This is the guy that put a hole through one of the sets because he threw a chair last year when he got pissed off at something, and in general he just tends to act like a stuck-up prick. But last night was our first live news broadcast of the year. Matt kind of annoyed me at first, because he came up behind me twice during filming and started turning the camera slightly and zooming out or in to get a better shot. I mean, I know he couldn't actually tell me what to do because his voice would have carried over the studio mics, but still, it freaked me out having someone suddenly grab onto my camera! And I hadn't fixed the shot before because the producer, Jamie, hadn't said anything about it.

Anyway, later on I had to move my camera back to get a wide shot for the end (when the credits roll up). I was thinking that a wide shot would just entail getting the two anchors and the weather guy, but Matt came over and told me to pull the camera back far enough to get not only the anchors, but also part of the camera next to me. It added depth to the shot, he said. Meanwhile, through the headphones Jamie told me in a rather perplexed tone that I had to zoom in, and then didn't understand why Matt would want a shot like that. The odd part was, I totally saw where Matt was coming from. I've seen shots like that used dozens of times on the news station back home, and it is a pretty creative idea. But I think Matt and I were the only ones who saw it that way, hehe...

The other thing came later, when we had to move both cameras over to another set to do a sports show. Matt came over and grabbed the cord for me (so that it was out of the way), but he told me that I'd have to move the camera myself. Ziggy, the weather guy, came over at one point and started hauling the camera over, but Matt was like, "No, let her do it and get the feel of it." Maybe in his mind, there was some condescending reason for making me do it myself, but I was grateful for him saying that. I don't want people doing everything for me because they think I'm a girl and I can't pull heavy equipment or do things that they can. Matt, in his own arrogant way, at least seems to have some respect. And I respect him for that.

I don't know that I've made any progress whatsoever with the veterans of the station yet, but I'm hoping after a couple more weeks they'll be a little more friendly toward me!

Hmm, what else...I'm feeling very tired. I guess I should go to 7-Eleven and get that milk before I'm too tired to worry about it. I wonder if I should break down and go to dinner with Kevin and then ask if he wants to walk down with me, or just go by myself. With my luck, he's going to end up seeing this because he has a tendency to read over people's shoulders and he might just be there some day when Amanda's reading (that habit REALLY irritates me. I hate nosiness). But anyway, I'm trying to hang out much less with Kevin than I have been. Certain aspects of his personality grate on me after awhile, maybe because I'm older or maybe because I'm more mature, I don't know. But more than that, I'm not thrilled with the fact that people are starting to think that he and I are dating. I'm not worried in the same way that any other girl might be worried, because I have no desire to appear single (in the hope that some single guy might approach me). The thought of going out with Kevin makes me shudder, though...and not because he's a toad, but because he's so firmly set in the 'Friend' category that the thought of him ever crossing that line is...well, just kinda gross.

Heh...I really hope he doesn't end up reading this now! Though if he did it would be his own fault for being nosy and rude. So oh well, either way it'll be alright. LOL...this is my diary, and I can rant in it if I so desire!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!