Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Radio sucks.
Written on Sunday, Sept. 14, 2003 at 11:22 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

I had my show tonight, and I officially don't want to be in radio anymore. LOL...It was a novelty last year, and I had fun just being a substitute, with no obligations to be back every week. But now it's just boring, and it's not like I can even play the things I like, because even though I have a night show and can technically play what I want, a)The radio station doesn't have a lot of classic rock stuff, and b)I have to play what people request! 'Course, tonight I got maybe 4 or 5 calls in the three hours I was there, which kinda sucked because I was bored as hell all night. I played two songs by the White Stripes for Lola (even though she can't hear the station, lol), and I played some other wacky stuff. Then, taking Pam's suggestion from last night, I played this song called "Cameltoe".

Oh my goodness. I about doubled over laughing. Just by the title, I knew what the song was about...but it was just so ridiculous that it was funny! Geoff was the one who'd introduced me to the word, so I called him up on my cell phone to tell him about it. :-P I hadn't expected him to actually be home, but since he was we laughed over the song for a little while, but then we kept talking. And it was so nice, because I thought I was going to die of boredom in that studio! Not to mention die of heat exhaustion, because it was probably around 90 degrees in that little room. No air conditioning, no air circulation whatsoever...I was seriously uncomfortable by the time my show ended. But talkin' to Geoff made it all worthwhile. *everyone gags*

I'm a bit peeved--and that's an understatement--by Fred, who's the IT Director. His job, which is to take the new CDs and put their titles into the database, was branched off from mine a couple years ago. The music director used to have to do all that stuff and make the playlists each week, but the job was split into two positions so that there was less work for one person to do. However, I think Fred is trying to take over my job. I was already frustrated with him because I could never get him to sit down and actually tell me how the new programming style should be done. Today when I walked into the station, I found that he'd programmed Monday's show, with a little note in the margins of each show asking the DJs to let him know what kind of music their show will have so that he can program around that.

Um...First of all, the Music Director does the programming for Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday. IT only does the programming for Thursday and Friday, but it's more of a lackey job for them because the real work was already done (in the old system, anyway). I don't know what possessed him to program tomorrow's show, and write those little notes as though he's in charge of programming, but he's been doing this kind of stuff ever since the year began and it's pissing me off. I'm going to program Tuesday and Wednesday's shows, and I'm going to do it the old way since he hasn't seen fit to share any of his ideas with me. That bastard is not going to take over both jobs. I'm tired of having people step on me, and I'm going to stop this person from doing that before things get out of hand. At least at this point, I can be nice and even jovial about it. If things continue on this path, I'd have to be mean...and I'm not very good at being mean to people. Well, in-your-face mean, at least.

We're apparently going to be hit by a hurricane with the moniker of Lola's first laptop, and it's supposed to hit around Thursday. Except as yet, they don't know exactly what path this thing is going to take. I'm getting all my news about this from Geoff, since I haven't watched the news on TV in ages and didn't even know about the hurricane 'til Friday night. Anyway, one of the paths it could take would apparently lead it to hit in western PA, which always serves to make me happy. X_X No matter which path it takes, we'll still get hit, but I'd prefer not to be hit that hard. I feel bad for Mom and Geoff, though, being out there on the eastern side where they'll probably be hit fairly hard no matter what. This sucker's like 200 miles in diameter or something like that, and it's one of those class 5 hurricanes (however they're measured, hehe...it's the highest one)! Eee...

Alright, I should go take a shower now. I talked to Geoff for over two hours tonight, and consequently didn't go to the Rec Center as I'd originally planned. Hehe...Well, I'll go tomorrow night. I mean, he ignored a phone call from his brother to talk to me ("Oh, do you want to hang up?" "No, not at all."), so it was only fair that I ignore the Rec Center to talk to him, right? Hehehe :-P I suppose I could have talked to him while I exercised, but...that would definitely be crossing not only the borderline into obsession, but also the borderline into stupidity. And however silly I may be sometimes when it comes to him, I don't want to actually be stupid yet. :-P

Goodnight, Diary!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!