Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Issues
Written on Saturday, Sept. 13, 2003 at 2:15 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Can you believe that John Ritter died? I was talking to Geoff last night and asked how it was going, and he was like, "Better than John Ritter, anyway." Confused, I asked what he meant and he said that John had died.

"No f-ing way," I blurted, waiting for him to tell me he was joking (since he has a tendency to do that).

But it was true! Dude, the guy was only 54! I know that isn't really young, but...I don't know, it's a huger shock to me than hearing about the older celebrities dying. You sort of expect it with them, as horrible as that sounds, but John Ritter was still comparatively young! Eeee....I still remember when I was little and I'd watch reruns of "Three's Company" (I had a crush on him back then, lol). Ah, good times...

(Umm...I guess you could consider the next little bit to be somewhat spoiler-ish, if you've never seen "Finding Nemo".)

Last night, the student center showed "Finding Nemo," so I went down to see it (having never seen it before). It was so good! And I cried! But it wasn't even for the typical reasons. It was because I have deep psychological issues that need to be fixed. See, the whole movie pretty much centers on the father's love for his son. At the end, where Nemo hugs his father and says, "I love you, Daddy," I just cried. There were several other parts where my throat constricted painfully (such as when the pelican informs Nemo that his dad has been swimming across the entire ocean to find him), and it's really kind of pathetic. The only reason I got all choked up is because I kept thinking, "I wish my father was like that! I wish he was that loving!"

It was the same way with "What A Girl Wants", with the whole father-daughter thing. I don't cry because it's a happy ending, I cry because I wish I could have a relationship like that with my father. I never have, though. Even before the divorce, my father and I never had what anyone would call a close relationship. Daughters are supposed to be their fathers' little girls, but I never was. I almost wish I could go back to the past and get myself a new father. I'd look different than I do now, obviously (since I'm like the spitting image of Dad), but as I've told Mom before, I think I'd still be me. My soul would be the same. I'd just be a bit happier, because I'd have a father who truly cared about me.

But anyway, enough of that gloomy subject. It's not helping matters, hehe...

Amanda got the idea in my head that I should study abroad in France next year. She's determined to go to England, and she was saying what a neat idea it would be if I was in France and we could meet on the weekends or something. At first, I just scoffed at the idea. I can't even speak French in my freakin' classes, much less around thousands of real French speakers! But yet the more I think about it, the more I think it might be pretty cool! They say that being fully immersed is the best way to learn the language...which I suppose is pretty obvious, since it's one of those instances where you HAVE to learn the language or be a communication cripple, hehe...At any rate, I think I might go get more information about it. It could be an interesting experience, if nothing else...and as Amanda pointed out, how many Comm majors (in this college, at least) can say that they've studied abroad? It might give me SOME kind of lead on them, lol...

I think I'm ready to give up on those tree seeds. I've had them planted in that little germination chamber since mid-August, and they haven't sprouted yet. I've been doing everything the instructions told me to, yet nothing. And my curiosity is screaming to pluck one of the seeds out of the dirt to see if there's anything sprouted from it. :-P I'll just leave it 'til the end of the month. After that, I'll give up.

I suppose I should go get ready now. Amanda found someone to drive us to Walmart today after her tennis tournament, but I don't know when her tournament started! So conceivably, she could call at any time. :P I can't believe it's after 2 already...

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!