Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Menial lackey
Written on Thursday, Sept. 11, 2003 at 4:40 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Only had to work two hours today, thank goodness...but I still feel like my entire day has just gone poof! It's not so much that yesterday was BAD, because I've worked 8 1/2 hour days more than I can count, but all that running back and forth from one end of the campus to the other (and it's all uphill from the Comm department) just wore me out. And I didn't have any sort of a break, really, which would be fine if I hadn't wanted one. But I would have liked a wee respite to grab some food! Or 'foot', as I just typed it...Had I known that our exec board meeting wasn't happening yesterday, I would have run up to the student center as soon as I finished talking with my advisor! But ah well.

My two hours were spent working for him, though I was alone in the office the entire time because he had classes to teach. The task he gave me was more menial labor, only this time in the form of stamping books. Have you ever seen one of those things that presses the paper into a small seal? It looks like a single-hole punch, and you have to squeeze a sheet of paper in it so that when you're done, there's a seal that says "Library of So-And-So" or "Your mother is a fraggin' aardvark" or whatever you have the seal customized to. It was fun for about the first five books. After the first stack and the first bin, I was finding it to be quite tedious. And I still had a big shelf packed with books! Not a hard job, by any means, but my hands are a little sore. X_X

At first, I was sitting in there singing and humming to myself, but thankfully I looked up to see that he had a small radio in his room. So the rest of the time passed quickly as I sang along to the Oldies station. The professor came in once, between classes, but thankfully he didn't mind that I'd been touching his personal stuff, hehe...I mean, it's only a radio, but you never know when someone's going to freak out about that kind of thing!

Have you ever noticed that there are some professors you just think of by their first name, and yet others you have to put a title in front? Mary Beth, for example, is a professor that I could never call "Mrs." or "Professor". My advisor, on the other hand, has always been a "Mr. So-and-So" in my mind. He told me yesterday that I was to call him by his first name because he wasn't old enough for all that "Mr." stuff (I don't think he's any older than Mary Beth), yet just the idea of walking into his office and being like, "Hey, Michael!" makes me feel weird, like I'm somehow being hugely disrespectful.

Just a random observation from Yours Truly...

I am hungry like the wolf. Oo, Kristen gave me a Rice Krispies Treat, so my tummy feels better now. Isn't it fun to make expressions out of bits of songs? I've got some of my friends saying "it rocks the casbah," and lately I've been using that line from a Duran Duran song. Fun times.

Whenever Kevin gets back, I think we're going to dinner. I hope he doesn't choose to go to the student center. For some reason, I like going to the dining hall on weekdays. Both places always serve the same stuff, but occasionally the dining hall gets something different. Different is good. And my appetite has been so big ever since working out that I'll eat stuff even if it doesn't taste good. *laughs*

Anyway, I guess I'll go now. And find something productive to do. I wish I could find out if we had any homework in Math, heehee... :P

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!