Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Some call me the space cowboy
Written on Monday, Sept. 08, 2003 at 5:51 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

I'll definitely like working for MaryBeth. I went down to her office today to figure out a schedule, and it turns out that today was supposed to be my first day! But she didn't know what she wanted me to do, so we sat around and chatted for about 10 minutes and she said that we'd just pretend I'd worked those two hours. :P She's really nice, and she's not THAT much older than me so it's all good. We should get along swimmingly.

I can't seem to get a hold of my advisor to ask when he would like me to work! I stopped by his office twice, and left a voicemail for him too, so hopefully he'll get back to me tomorrow. My five hours with MaryBeth have deleted my two-hour homework window on Mondays and Wednesdays, unfortunately, so I'll actually have to do my homework in the evenings! *giggles* Oh well, maybe it'll make me more responsible. Ha ha...

In a way, I actually am a little worried that maybe I'll be burning myself out with all this stuff I'm doing, but the job is necessary. If it all gets to be too much, I'll just have to cut back at the TV station or whatever. I can't really cut back with the radio station, since I'm on the exec board... :P

I started talking with Lisa yesterday on AIM, which is fun! I'm reminded of when I first met Lola, because we'd started reading each other's diaries before we actually talked to each other. ^_^ I love meeting new people! Online, anyway. *giggles* I'm a little too shy to do it a lot in person!

The sororities have been spreading propaganda full force in the past few days. They like the street chalk. A lot. Well, I should say that two of them in particular have quite a fondness for street chalk advertisements...and they both have double-Sigmas in their names (well, one of them is ALL sigmas, hehe). I saw two or three advertisements in a row for the same sorority, and all spaced within a few feet of each other! Can we say 'desperate'? Yes, because that's what they are. The only reason I got in last year was because they desperately needed pledges. Comforting, eh? At any rate, I'll be glad when all this hooplah is over, because anything Greek just serves to annoy me anymore. If I had more supporters, I'd totally go around sporting "Go Roman" shirts. But as it is, there are only 3 or 4 of us at most, and we'd definitely get our butts kicked.

I wouldn't mind a button, though! If anyone would like to make me a small button that says "Only The Best Go Roman" I'd love you forever! ;)

Speaking of the Greeks, though, Amanda and I were in the snack shop last night and as we got into line, a guy passed in front of me. I wasn't even really paying attention to who it was, but he said, "Hey, Amber," and I focused my gaze to see none other than the Most Adorable Station Manager Ever. I gave a rather exuberant hello, which was more habit than anything because it hadn't clicked who'd said hi to me yet and so I was just being overly friendly, lol...At any rate, I still find myself strangely surprised that he knows my name, since I've only spoken to him two or three times before this year. No, I'm not implying that means anything! I just thought it was weird. :P It's just a physical attraction though, hehe...So I can contain myself. Mostly. *grins*

As Amanda and I were standing there, two guys behind us suddenly started talking to us. I don't even remember how it started, but the one guy looked at me and said something about it being a good day. "Oh yeah, it's been a...FANTASTIC day!" I replied, trying my best to be glib. Men intimidate me. I'm not usually very witty around them. The guy looked at me for a minute, almost expectantly, and then blurted:

"The Steelers won!"

Well whoop-dee-froo-ha, I thought disinterestedly. Aloud, I announced that I was from Philadelphia. The guys looked at each other in that "Uh oh, an enemy" sort of way.

"You like the Eagles?"

"Well, no. They suck."

That got a laugh out of them. They turned to Amanda and asked if she was from Pittsburgh, and when she said yeah they started cheering or whatever, then said something else about the Steelers. The first guy looked down at what she was holding and said, "See, April knows! April knows!"

I had to turn away, I was laughing so much. Amanda had been holding this little handmade sunshine thingy she'd made for her Big, whose name is April. I seriously think those guys were a little tipsy, and they were just cracking me up. But that was the last time they spoke to us. :P

Pam told me that I'm in the sorority's scrapbook now, hehe...I was wondering if maybe they'd made a "Page of Shame", but it turns out that I was just in there with the Pledge Class of Spring '03. Kind of disappointing, not having a place of honor on someone's Page of Shame. Well, I'm sure they have one of those that only the sisters get to look at.

Can you imagine how insane I'd be if I had to worry about all that sorority crap on TOP of what I'm already doing? The sorority would be the first to go. Definitely.

Okay, Kevin is salivating for dinner (*scoff* Men.) so I guess I should go now. Ah well, I suppose I could use some dinner too!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!