Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Talk to me, baby
Written on Saturday, Aug. 30, 2003 at 3:34 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Gah. For some reason, my head has been pounding today. I'm used to small headaches that occur every few days, but today I got out of the shower and it felt like my head was just going to crack right open. It subsided a little bit while I was down in the lobby having pizza with Kristen's family, but then they offered to drive me down to Campbell to see if my laptop arrived, and the headache started up again. I took a couple Tylenol about half an hour ago, so hopefully that'll help.

I'm down in the library again, because for some reason Kristen's computer isn't letting her sign onto the Internet at all. It is a veritable ghost town around this place. I walked all the way from my residence hall to about halfway past the dining hall without seeing a soul. Then a small group of people walked by, and then closer to the library I saw about 4 more people. But other than that, I felt like I was the only one left here on campus. Just about everyone has gone home for the Labor Day weekend. Me? I'm stuck here thinking about when exactly I feel like sewing up that other curtain for my closet. I started--and finished--the first one yesterday, and apart from it being a few inches too long it looks pretty nice. Now all I need is that second panel to be sewn up, and my messy closet will be hidden from view!

I got a call yesterday from a woman down in the Communication office, and she told me to email her a one-page list of my qualifications (for a clerical-type job) because she's got several applicants. This has paranoid me just a little bit. I worked in my dad's office back when I was 16, but that was down in the basement stamping files and putting them away. I never used the computer there, and I don't really know how to use programs like Excel or any of those other things. I can type fast, so I think that'd be a plus, but I no longer know exactly HOW fast I type! The last time I took a typing class was in 9th grade, and at that time I was up to 54 wpm without any errors. By now, I'm sure I've sped up quite a bit. Ugh. I'm just not sure what I'm going to write to take up a page! But I'll think of something.

I spent about an hour or so last night watching extras on the "Monty Python and the Holy Grail" DVD. That Eric Idle is so cute sometimes, lol ;) Kristen came over to watch it with me for a little while, and we found two Japanese scenes that cracked us up. The Knights of Ni, instead of saying they wanted a shrubbery, said they wanted a bonsai. Which I'm sure is the same sort of thing, but it was funny to hear this squeaky-ish voice go "a BONSAIIIIII!"

Exactly at 9 o'clock (when my unlimited minutes start on the cell phone), I called up Geoff. :P As usual, there wasn't anything particular that we talked about...yet we still somehow managed to stay on the phone for 3 and a half hours. Hehe...I told him I missed him, which brought on the "Awww" response from him, and I was detailing various tribulations of my first week of school, but generally it was just nice to talk to him again. I'm still not sure whether he'll be coming up for ALF or not (I'm using the acronym so that it doesn't turn up in search engines, hehe), but I definitely made it clear that I wanted him to visit. Heh...actually, I made quite a few things clear to him last night, though who knows if it made any difference whatsoever. At any rate, toward the end of the conversation I asked if it was okay to call every week, and he said yes. ^_^ It's nice to have something like that to look forward to every week! When we finally hung up at 12:30, he said, "Talk to you next week," and I was thinking, "Oh yes, you will" hehe...

I feel like there was something else (non-Geoff related) that I'd wanted to write in here, but now I can't remember what it was. X_X Apparently, the reason why our internet has been so shoddy lately is because the whole system is infected with a virus. Kristen downloaded the patch last night, but now her computer isn't working today so for all I know the patch did more harm than good! Maybe it's a good thing I haven't had my laptop, since I really don't relish the idea of putting a virus onto it. The only thing is, I don't know if anybody can actually get the virus OUT of the Clarion system, so for all I know I'll get the virus anyway, regardless of how long I wait for my laptop to arrive!

I forgot that Monday is a holiday, so I'm going to have to wait until Tuesday to get my laptop after all. : It makes me want to cryyyy!

I guess I'll go now. I want to run back to my room and get my camera so I can take a few pictures of all this construction before the students return en masse. It'll be much easier to get pictures (and take the time to compose each shot) when I don't have to worry about people swarming around me and wondering what I'm doing. The Clarion construction is going to be my topic for the Intro to Images project we have to do. I just need to talk it over with the professor before anyone else steals my idea! X_X

Later note: I just took one of those online typing test things, and got 93 wpm the first time, and 114 the second time. I know they're not the most accurate things, but at least it gives me a general idea of what to write in my 'self-praising' email, lol!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!