Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Construction sucks.
Written on Monday, Aug. 25, 2003 at 7:38 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Kevin has shown me a lovely little area of the library where there are four computers with little wooden separators in between. It certainly beats the other labs, where all the computers are right next to each other and it constantly feels as though the other person is looking over your shoulder. Oh, how I miss having my own computer! I have walked the path of the computer-deprived, and I now feel your pain.

Today was interesting. Math was first, and I don't even want to think about how that class is going to be. It's called Excursions Math, so it's supposed to be stuff that actually applies to everyday life. But for me, math just doesn't apply to everyday life...unless it's adding/subtracting simple numbers. :P The class was spent primarily listening to a very strange sort of role-call. She'd call out the name, the person would raise their hand, and then she'd ask what their major was and why they were taking this course. Most people were honest and said that they were taking the class because it was required, hehe...I felt like saying, "Because it's required. And I'm sure I might use this information someday, but numbers scare me and I'd really rather be doing something else."

At least I have a friend in there. Or a somewhat-friend. We were never bosom pals, but she's nice and I now have a study buddy, so it's all good.

Now we get to the bit where I complain about all the construction going on round here. This stuff started somewhere toward the end of last semester, but this year it's just terrible. The bakery's closed because it's being expanded, the road that goes between the science building and Ralston is COMPLETELY torn up because they need to fix the pipes underground, and the field out behind Ralston...that can't even really be described as a field anymore. It's been turned into the resting spot/storage space for the construction workers. There are several trailers, lots of metal pieces, and even a portable toilet. The whole campus looks like hell, and I'm really anxious to find out whether freshman numbers drop next year. I mean, if I was getting a campus tour and I saw all this nonsense going on, I'd be like, "Hell NO I'm not going there! I'll go somewhere with more aesthetic charm!" :P

I was walking from my building down toward my French class, and I turned down the stairs (outside) that I always do. Since I was so familiar with the path, I didn't really pay attention to what was going on around me. Basically, I was on auto pilot. Well, imagine my surprise when I got to the bottom of the stairs and found that I couldn't go to the right because they'd put up one of those orange construction mesh-fences! I walked into the science building, wondering if there was a side door I could use, but there wasn't. So I had to double back, go all the way around another building, and then down to my class...a trip that, had that fence not been there, would have been about 100 feet or so.

Going to my Comm class, I was actually a couple minutes late because I had to go alllll the way around several buildings just to get to a walkable path. This construction is insane. You should see that road they had to tear up; there are now canyons dug in there, the largest clocking in at what looks like at least 20 feet deep. I hope no one gets drunk one night and decides to go walking in the dark!

I stopped by the poster sale again today and bought myself a Led Zeppelin poster. ^_^ I haven't been able to hang it up yet because I'm forcing myself to do the necessary stuff (like putting all my stuff away), but that's okay. It's a picture from Stairway to Heaven, not an actual picture of the band. Once I get my Freddie Mercury, Moody Blues, and Summer of Love posters back (or once Mom sends them to me, I mean), my side of the room will look like classic rock heaven! LOL ;)

Pam, who moved out to this little house just down the hill from Givan (with two of her friends), has been in our hall more in the past two days than she's been at her house, I think! Coming back from our mandatory floor meeting last night, I saw Pam in the hallway and I was like, "It's ten o'clock! What are you doing here?" It feels really weird for her to NOT be living there anymore. I mean, she used to be my eccentric next-door neighbor, and now there are two freshman girls there! It's sad! Actually, I think everyone in our hall (with a few exceptions) are freshmen. Which kinda sucks. They've all got the same camaraderie that we had last year, because they got here earlier and had to do that whole introduction thingy, so they know each other. For the rest of us, the "old gang," unless we're really outgoing it's not the same. I haven't really met any of these girls yet, and unfortunately they're all the skinny, probably-popular-in-high-school types. There are a few really nice girls that I've met, but...I'm just a creature of habit. I like things--sentimental things--to stay the same. Now, I just look at the doors and think, "So-and-so used to live there!"

In French today, we had to do the obligatory "interview someone you don't know and then introduce them to the class" thing. I always get so flustered with that stuff, since strangers are intimidating creatures. But luckily the guy next to me, Zack, didn't have a partner so I partnered up with him. What puts me at ease is the fact that he doesn't speak very good French, so I don't stress so much about my own mistakes. But, even better, when he asked me what kind of music I like and I replied "Classic rock," he was actually enthusiastic about it! And then when I said I'd been to see Jethro Tull...it was just cool. And there were two other people in the class who also said they liked classic rock, so it's kinda neat that more people are having an appreciation for music with actual musical talent. Not like that rap "let's steal music from someone else and make some noise over it" stuff. I may have to deal with all those skinny girls on my floor blaring their rap all day, but at least there are SOME people who don't. :P

I had one small bout of homesickness last night, as I lay there in bed and cried for about 45 seconds (hehe)...The nights are always the hardest. I mean, during the day you can keep yourself occupied and all, but at night you've got nothing but your thoughts and...well yeah, it just sucked. But I feel better today (though it IS daytime, so who knows how I'll be tonight, lol) and I can't wait to see what my two classes tomorrow will be like!

I've already emailed Bill to ask about WCUC and NBS. On one hand, I feel like I'm asking too much too early, but at the same time, we really ought to start as early as possible! The TV station already has a flyer up announcing their first general meeting, so why can't WCUC have anything up about when they plan to start broadcasting (or even when we're having our first meeting)? If I was the station manager...*grins*

Kevin keeps looking over my shoulder in an attempt to freak me out, so I guess I should close this entry. I don't even know if I'd have anything more interesting to talk about anyway, so it's no big deal. :P Now that I know about these secluded computers, I think I'll try coming here every evening after dinner to discuss my day! ;)

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!