Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Forget the segues
Written on Thursday, Aug. 21, 2003 at 3:49 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

My spider plant, rather appropriately, has been dubbed Arachne.

Like you didn't see that one coming. ;)

Did you know that talking to plants became a fad in the 1970's? Well, I'm sure people have been doing it longer than that, but I guess it actually became a fad in the '70s. Along with Pet Rocks. *giggles* I think I might find myself a pretty, smooth stone and turn it into a pet. Granted, it won't be the same 'cause it didn't come in a box with holes in the sides, but I could still tie a string around it and lead it around campus.

And only the professors would actually get what I was doing, probably. :-P

Yesterday, whilst paying for my items at Lane Bryant, one of the girls behind the counter asked, "Did you go to [insert high school name]?"

"Yeah, I did," I replied, thinking both 'Unfortunately' and 'Uh oh, am I supposed to know you?'

I felt so stupid, being recognized by someone yet not knowing who exactly she was! Turns out, she was a friend of Mandee's, and that's how she knew me. So it wasn't THAT bad that I didn't recognize her, since she wasn't really a friend of mine! We just had a mutual friend. :P I never really thought I'd have one of those situations happen to me before. But at least I didn't do the sitcom, "Oh, yeah, HI! It's been SO long!" lying thing. *grins*

VH1 has been airing their new show, "I love the 70's," every night this week at 9 o'clock. I watched a couple of the "I love the 80's" shows while in college, and they were really funny, but I'm more interested in 70's stuff than 80's (even though the 80's had more nostalgia for me since I could be like, "Ooo, I remember that!"). If you've never watched it, it's actually pretty good. It's not so much the subjects they bring up as the people's reactions to these subjects. VH1 got a bunch of comedians and other folks to comment on various things like Sea Monkeys and other 70's fads, and I just cracked up listening to them. Two of the guys, Hal Sparks and Mo Rocca, were constantly making me laugh. And this other guy, whose name I can't remember but he's in that show 'Ed' I think. I just like his delivery, the way he says everything as though he's completely serious. And Monty Python was mentioned, too!

You guys have to watch at least one show. If for nothing else than to hear everyone make fun of stuff. :-P

Tim called today around 12:30 and I feel really badly about how coolly I've been treating him. It's not so much lingering irritation over what happened at the Jethro Tull concert as it is general annoyance with the way he acts. He is a good guy. I mean that. I may frequently paint him as an ass in this diary, but he's got a good heart. It's just that his brain and his heart don't always communicate together very well. At any rate, I need to learn how to have more patience with people. He's not the only one who gets me irritated very quickly.

At any rate, he called later today and asked to talk to Mom...and then a few minutes later when I tried to walk outside, Mom told me to go back in for a little bit. Turns out, Tim had had to ask her something, and apparently he and Geoff are going to chip in on something for me. I have no idea what. I asked Mom if it was anything perverted, and she immediately said no...then went on to say that it was actually very sweet and she hadn't even thought of it. So now I'm dying of curiosity and can't wait until Saturday!

But at the same time, I'm halfway not ready to go back to college. Not just because I haven't even finished packing everything, but because...well I don't know, I guess it's just the homesickness sort of thing. I know the first day or so will be kinda icky again, but it won't be nearly as bad as last year. The silly part, as I've mentioned before, is that I'll miss hanging out with Geoff! I think I'll talk to him on the phone a little more often (if this summer was any indication), but I'll be 5 hours away now instead of just 45 minutes. Maybe, after he comes up with us on Saturday, he'll decide to visit every so often on the weekends. Or I'll suggest it to him. ;)

There are so many things I'll have to look forward to this year, college-wise, and I can't wait to get started! The summer definitely helped to straighten out my thoughts and priorities, and I have to say that I'm definitely glad I got wise and quit the sorority. I'm not saying every sorority in the world is bad, because it all depends on the people. But augh, why did I ever want to be involved in the superficial world in which I found myself immersed last semester? I knew that the minute I quit, most of them wouldn't give me the time of day anymore...and I realized, "Why would I want to be a part of that?" I may not have a lot of friends, but the ones I do have are close friends. The genuine sort. And I'd take a handful of close friends over a hundred superficial ones any day.

It took me a bit of time to realize that, but in the end, all it boiled down to was the jacket. I wanted to wear one of those damn jackets, lol! Which is just a symbol of wanting to belong to something, of course...and I could always just make my own jacket anyway. It'd be cooler anyway. Ha ha ha ;)

The phone rang this morning, and all I knew was that it was early...so I didn't answer it. Later, when I finally woke up, I thought that maybe I had dreamed the whole thing but checked our voicemail anyway. Turns out, Mom's manager had called...at 6:30 in the frickin' morning. "It's 6:30, and you were scheduled to be in at 6, give me a call..." That guy is such an ass. Not because of the phone call (though getting anal like that IS retarded), but because of the way he runs things. He's a lazy ass first of all, and makes everyone else do his work...but he's also constantly scheduling Mom for hours like 4-12:30 (as he did this morning) and 6-2:30...he never gives her a straight schedule. She has to work 4am to 8am this Saturday, just because he forgot that she was taking me to college! And he's known about this for a couple of months! Prick.

Right, anyway...that's all I feel like writing about today. :-P I'm debating on whether I should go to bed or go out to the livingroom and pack my newly-washed clothes. Decisions, decisions...

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!