Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Less than a week!
Written on Monday, Aug. 18, 2003 at 11:26 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

I can't believe there's less than a week now until I go back to college. In some ways, the summer just seemed to drag endlessly, but in other ways it seemed like it went really fast! Soon, I'll be back to complaining about schoolwork and boredom on the weekends, hehehe...but I guess 2 days of boredom beats almost an entire summer of it, eh?

My biggest obstacle this year is going to be that wretched math class. It's supposed to be math for people who don't like math, but as long as it's got that word in it, and as long as it means working with numbers in some way, it's going to be a problem. Ha ha ha! 'Problem'...get it? XD Kristen took this course last semester, and of course she got an A in it...but Kristen gets A's in everything. Because she's an Honors kid and it's expected of her. I remember when Lauren came over a couple times to ask with help on certain things, and as I was listening to them I kept thinking, "Huh...? I'm never going to pass this course."

But then again, I wasn't in class, and it's usually easier to figure stuff out if you've had it explained to you beforehand. :P And besides, if I need help I've always got Kristen! She's always eager to help me out, hehe...Ahh, the joy of having a helpful roommate! *grins*

I checked my schedule the other day, wondering if professors had yet been assigned to a couple of my classes, but so far only one professor has been assigned. My 'Writing For Media' class will be taught by...Bill Adams. The same guy who taught my Comm 100 class last semester, hehe! I wish Jess was online, so I could share in the humor with her. I was elated to have him as a professor last semester because I knew him from the radio station and saw what a nice guy he was. But both Jess and I liked having him because he almost always ended the class after about half an hour. Can't complain with that! I was so afraid that they'd end up assigning my former advisor as the professor, since he's teaching one of the other WFM classes. I guess I really didn't give him much of a chance, but he was just so cynical and very difficult to warm up to! I'll definitely be trying to avoid him in the future.

Now, for more news on my laptop! About a day after I got it back, it started doing the exact same thing it was doing before I sent it in to be fixed...the reason why I'd sent it away in the first place! 'Course, the guy had said he found no problems with it, and sent it away just to get the monitor fixed. About 5 weeks later (once they found it in Tennessee), my laptop came back to me with a new LCD screen and a brand new keyboard (there was a "liquid spill"...which means one of THEM spilled something, since no liquid ever came near my baby)...but the original problem still was not fixed.

This time around, I was smart and saved all of my files onto floppy disks before Mom took the computer in again. She brought it in this afternoon, and when she came back she told me that the laptop had fizzed out on them, so at least now they know what we're talking about. But then later in the evening, they called us and said everything was fine! Told Mom some story about how if it's running on the battery, it has this safety device or whatever. So we're going to go pick up the laptop again tomorrow.

Want to know what's funny? I never used battery power at all since the laptop came back. In fact, I'd REMOVED the battery because it was getting really hot and I had a feeling that it might have been doing something funky to the computer. See, at one point the entire bottom part of the computer was getting really really hot, which had led me to believe that the fan was broken and everything was overheating. Last night, as soon as I turned the laptop on the fan came on as well, and I had that thing on for an hour at least without anything happening. I probably could have had it on longer, but I'd done everything I needed to do.

The battery was never in the laptop that entire time. Or the day prior to that (the laptop DID act up that day, though). And even when it was in, I had the laptop plugged into an outlet. Therefore, I don't know what that guy at the service center was talking about, but the battery 'safety thingy' (or whatever he told Mom) couldn't have really played a part. So I'm going to test it out again tomorrow when we get it back, but if it's still malfunctioning...heads will roll.

This is all getting really ridiculous. I know everyone makes mistakes, but this many all in a row?? That's more like 'incompetence'.

I'm halfway to the point of making one of those "Don't buy from Gateway!" sites, LOL! But they'll have to piss me off a little bit more before something like that happens.

So that's all that's happening around here. Not a whole lot, as usual...but that'll change by next week! ^_^

Hmmm...I wonder if Geoff will be agreeable to seeing me one more day this week before we go to Clarion. :P (By the way, 3 of you all saying the same thing in that last entry...It MUST be true then, right? *grins*)

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!