Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: 99 out of 100
Written on Wednesday, Aug. 06, 2003 at 11:56 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Thank goodness, the whole parking thing went muchmuch smoother today. I messed up once, turning in too shallowly, but other than that I did just fine. The most annoying thing about practicing at the DMV is that you can't go over until 4:30 (because they're testing 'til then), and then around...I don't know, 6 or so, people just flood into this place. I was in the process of trying to straighten my car in the little space, and I looked over my shoulder to see THREE cars turn into the waiting lane. I wanted to leap from the car and chase them off...but I realized that a lone, unarmed human isn't really a very threatening presence when you're sitting in a car. So I just pulled out of the parking spot and left. Tomorrow's my last day to practice, and so we're going to have to get over there right at 4:30.

What worries me the most is that, for all this practicing, I only get one chance to do that tiny part of the test. Like I said yesterday, I could do it right 99 times, but then that 100th time I might park too shallowly, or hit a cone...and I'd automatically fail. Not exactly fair, since most people tend to hit the curb when parallel parking anyway, but whoever said life was fair? Still, at 22 years old I think I ought to get some kinda privilege for not running out and getting a license the moment I was first able to. *le sigh* If the planet was ruled by me... ;)

Last night, I was rereading a few entries from back in 2001, and I came across an entry where I was complaining about having a headache and wondering if it was because of this computer monitor. I completely forgot I'd even written half this stuff, but with the way this monitor makes everything flicker and bounce, it's no wonder I was suffering from headaches! I hate this friggin' thing, I really do. I'd only just bought this computer in January of 2001, yet by that September I was already complaining about how slow it was running. And how the monitor was acting up. Computers aren't supposed to break down that fast, are they? I mean, my laptop was working fine! I swear, Gateway is just a crappy company. My next computer is coming from a different company, so I can judge if it's actually the brand, or if I'm doing something wrong.

Or hell, maybe it's Windows! Everyone else complains about Windows, I might as well jump on the bandwagon!

I cut out the pieces to the second skirt I want to make. This one's called a bias skirt, which (very very simply) means that the pattern piece was cut on a diagonal. I can't really explain it, but suffice it to say I had SO much more of a problem putting these two pieces together than I did with the other skirt! I probably screwed it up anyway. And there was WAY more fabric than I actually needed, despite the fact that I read the back of the pattern envelope correctly. I've got so much scrap fabric laying around now, and no ideas of what to do with it. If I was still in the sorority, I could make letters out of the extra fabric to put on T-shirts, lol!

Hmm...wonder if Amanda would be interested in any of it...

Mom bought two rolls of carpet from the older guy that lives two floors above us. He's moving into a new apartment complex with his girlfriend, and I guess the place must have carpeted floors (as opposed to this place, which has wood parquet or however you spell it). At any rate, one of the rolled-up carpets was cut out to fit exactly in the walk-in closet, but Mom was thinking maybe I could take the other carpet up to college with me. I'd already planned on taking the beige carpet that used to be in her room, and besides...this guy's carpet is rose-colored. Not a problem, for the most part, except for the fact that my dorm room has blue-green tiles on the floor and blue-painted walls. Deep rose would just look funny in there. Still, I guess I'll email Kristen and see what she thinks. She'll be up there on the 21st, so she can tell me if they repainted the walls as was rumored.

This entry isn't turning out to be anything spectacularly interesting, is it? I don't have it in me for one of my usual rants (that alone has probably caused a few of you to fall over, hehe), and I didn't talk to either Geoff or Tim today...I wonder how long it'll take for Geoff to call me, hehe :P I think he started his new job on Monday, so he's probably been really busy the past few days. But, I think he said something about only working 4 or 5 days a week, and this Friday was the one he'd tentatively said we could go see PotC (every time I look at that abbreviation, my mind keeps thinking it's either a Harry Potter or a Wheel of Time book title). I'm keeping to my promise that I won't make him go, so I'm not going to bring it up even if he does call, but I wonder if he remembers anyway. *chuckles* That man's memory isn't exactly stellar. But at least after all these months, I've realized that he's like that with everyone and not just me. LOL, I used to get so paranoid whenever he forgot about something or didn't call me when he said he would! I used to think it meant he was tired of me and wished I'd just go away...*giggles*

Not to say that I never get paranoid anymore, but I think I've gotten a lot more confident than I was a year or two ago. :P About time, too!

Anyway, I really don't have anything else to write about, so it's no use just rambling on! Maybe I should go back out and continue with that skirt. I'd been hoping for more stuff to check/do online, but nobody's around to talk to and Hogwarts is being run by all the newcomers so checking there takes all of five seconds! : What happened to the old crowd? Come back, please!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!