Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Dangeresque 2!
Written on Tuesday, Jul. 22, 2003 at 11:51 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

I almost decided that I was too tired to get up and take that permit test today. When I lay there in bed and thought about all the stuff I was going to do, and how much of a hassle the DMV people were no doubt going to give me (they're exceptionally good at that)...well, I just figured that staying cozied up in bed--despite the fact that it was well into the afternoon--just seemed better.

But get up I did, when Mom finally came home. :P It took an amazingly short time to get dressed and ready, and then I gathered all the materials that this place could POSSIBLY want (birth certificate, SS card and photo ID, tax forms and utility bills) and we were off. I was already feeling a little tetchy because just the night before, I read the permit application form and discovered that I didn't HAVE to provide my birth certificate; my photo ID would have done just as well. Ohhh, if only I'd thought to look when that grouchy wench snapped at me the last time! I could have had my permit already!

So, in my less-than-perfectly-happy mood, I grumbled aloud to Mom that all of the stuff I held in my hands had better be enough, "Or I'll tell them they can have some of my menstrual blood and DNA test it to make sure I am who I say I am."

Pleasant image for you, eh? The sad part is, had I gotten that grouch again, I really think I'd have said that.

But see, what usually happens with me is that whenever I get this worked up about something and expect the worst to happen, everything goes so smoothly that I'm left wondering why I worried in the first place. First of all, the person at the front was a guy (the guy I think I took my first driving test with, actually), and he was nice as pie to me. I got my number and Mom and I went to take a seat. When my number was called, I walked up to another desk and was met by yet another guy.

All he asked for was my Photo ID.

I spent $10 and the past 3 weeks waiting for a birth certificate that I was told I needed, brought my two proofs of residency, and all the man looked at was my photo ID! I wasn't sure whether I should breathe a sigh of relief at that point, or growl threateningly at him and demand that he page through everything I'd brought with me. In the end, since he was such a nice, babyfaced sort of guy, I let it slide.

Got two questions wrong on the test, and I was feeling a little panicky, but...I got my permit. *slumps relievedly* I would have been entirely too embarrassed if I'd actually managed to fail that thing. I mean, I was surrounded by 16-year olds, and I think they managed to pass the test! One kid didn't even look tall enough to see over the steering wheel, yet I watched as he got his permit. X_X Remind me to give that boy a wiiiiiiide berth if I ever see him on the street. There is NO way he could possibly have been able to see over the steering wheel and reach the gas pedal, unless he plans on driving a reeeally small car.

I could have made an appointment to take my driver's test on Friday. Despite the knowledge that I'd never be able to practice enough by then, I was sorely tempted to go ahead and schedule it. That way, assuming I passed, the next time I saw Geoff and Tim I could brandish my new license in an impudent "There's one less thing for you to tease me about!" way. But thankfully my common sense won out over pride.

Mom wanted me to go out and practice this afternoon, but I had a terrible headache (presumably from lack of sleep) and didn't really feel like it. Well, actually I did want to go, but my head was hurting too badly. X_X That's always the way it goes.

Anyway, that's it on "Amber's Driving Status." Hopefully within a week or so, I can update you again. :P

I think I'm turning into an attention whore, at least in regard to my diary. *chuckles* Not really sure why, since in the back of my mind I know that with more exposure comes more stupid people leaving stupid remarks in my guestbook, but it's kinda nice to know that people are even somewhat interested in what I have to write. Last night I made a banner that I put in for a meager 1,000 rotations, and I had a 2.9 click-through percentage on it. But I wonder if I didn't just trick them into clicking. *giggles* Either way, 2.9 is pretty good for me so I submitted the same banner for another 2,000 rotations. Bwa ha ha...

Also, if anyone wants to be kind, you can click on that button over on the right side...the one underneath my weather meter thingy? *smiles entreatingly* Don't worry, this is the last time I'll beg for that. ;) But it's a novelty, and I've never had much success with those things anyway so I figured just a LEETLE groveling wouldn't hurt anybody.

I think Geoff and Tim are going to return home tomorrow. Tim has to work again on Thursday, so they ought to be back...but it probably won't be until later at night and consequently I doubt I'll hear from them. I'm not really savoring this lonely feeling. Even if I don't get to see Geoff for awhile, it'll be nice to know that at least he's at home and I could see him if I wanted to! Insert sad face here.

It would be so fantastic if I could somehow get a car relatively soon after I get my license. I'd love to just randomly drive down to his apartment and be like, "Hey, I was in the neighborhood, thought I'd stop by..." But if I can even afford a car, I doubt I'll get one before I go back to college. A girl can still hope though, right?

Hmmm...I think I'm running out of chocolate from Jam's birthday parcel. That can't be good.

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!