Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Lamentable Laments
Written on Wednesday, Jul. 23, 2003 at 10:01 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Ohhh how I wish I had a life!

Thanks to Jam sending me a pack of Harry Potter playing cards, I have discovered the joy of playing Solitaire sans computer. *laughs* One sign that you're living in the computer age: you've never before played Solitaire with a real deck of cards. Granted, I've never had any use for cards because I can't play anything except Go Fish, but now that I can play Solitaire without turning this demon of a computer on...it's pure bliss! The only drawback to playing with real cards is that you have to shuffle them by hand, too. No more clicking "Deal" and watching as a new hand magically appears!

I want to do something exciting. I'm tired of sitting here every day waiting until 9 and 10 o'clock so that I can go online. I'd like to actually wake up with a purpose, with some excitement that I'm going to do something different! I want to go out driving for hours, picking roads that I've never been on before and just following them 'til their end. I don't need to have a destination; I just want to go. But of course, that ain't happenin' for quite some time.

My road test has been scheduled for August 8th at 1:45 pm. Here's hoping I can actually get some decent practice time in by then! As of right now, my total stands at 0. It figures that the day I actually feel like going out, Mom decides she doesn't want to! X_X Yet another reason why I can't wait to finally have some measure of independence: I'm tired of not being able to do things when I want to just because no one else does. The moment I can drive around on my own, I'm going to movies, even if none of my friends want to go. And I'll go out places by myself, just because I can. Dependence sucks. As the immortal Freddie Mercury once sang, "I want to break free!"

Despite the generally negative things I've seen about "Every Good Boy Deserves Favour," I really like that album now. Ray definitely seems to have a thing for writing childlike songs, but for all that I still love 'em. I'm not sure which one I like best off this album (other than "The Story In Your Eyes," which is just great)...maybe "Emily's Song." At any rate, my only complaint is that there are only nine songs on the album, and before I know it they're all over!

Last night, I spent some quality time with my old Queen tapes. I have a few of them on CD, but I have the entire collection in cassettes, so I decided to listen to a few of them. I've been listening to "Hot Space" for ages now because it was the only thing in my tape deck (and I was too lazy to get the rest of them out of their hiding place), but last night it was fun to listen to "Queen," "Sheer Heart Attack," "News Of The World," etc. I even listened to the title track from the Flash Gordon soundtrack. *laughs* Fun times, fun times!

FLASH! AA-AAH!

Hehe...Clarion sent me a letter telling me my dorm room number and my roommate. What a shock it was to see that I have the exact same room and the exact same roommate! *giggles*

Geoff and Tim are back. I don't know WHEN they got back, but I signed on and saw that I had a reply from Geoff, so yayyyy! Maybe we'll get to do something this weekend. Assuming that company he applied to hasn't called him back yet. I'm ashamed to admit that the reason I took my time looking for jobs at the beginning of the summer was because I knew his last day at the Safeway-Owned Store From Hell was at the beginning of July...and I didn't want to miss out on any possible time to be with him. X_X Yes, I've learned my lesson and next summer I'm not going to be that silly. Despite the fact that he's been 'free' for a little less than a month now, I don't think we've really seen any more of each other than when he was still working! Besides, maybe my being unavailable once in awhile will make him want me more. Ha ha ha...

My goal is to get invited out (by him, of course) for New Year's Eve. :P It would be the very first time not spent at home watching the ball drop and feeling like a miserable little ball of bitterness! Hehe...Well, I guess it would technically be the second time, because I did spend one New Year's Eve at Mel's house drinking non-alcoholic something-or-other (champagne, maybe). But when I went home I still had the 'miserable little ball of bitterness' side effects, so this would be the first time getting out AND evading the bad mood! If nothing else, maybe I can play on his sympathies and get him to invite me out of pity.

The news tonight, as though thinking they were telling me something new, announced that most ice creams have more saturated fat than three Quarter Pounders from McDonald's. Thus, it's only a matter of time before those lawyers suing fast food companies realize the REAL money can be had from Ben & Jerry's, and as such decide to sue them instead.

As for me? Don't think for a minute that I'm going to stop my consumption of those sinfully delicious frozen confections. Ice cream is my friend, and if it ends up clogging my arteries and killing me, at least I've died a happy woman.

Besides, I don't buy it that often. It's an expensive addiction. XP

I keep putting off the hemming of that skirt (and it's been HOW many weeks since I started it?). Putting on the seam binding went wrong (it's sewn on there crooked), and all I can keep thinking is, "When I finally sew it, it's going to be the most crooked, terrible hem on the face of the PLANET." And so, being my perfectionistic self, I keep putting it off because I don't want to do it if I can't do it perfectly. *sighs* That's sad. And I've got another 1 7/8 yards of fabric to start another skirt (from a different pattern), but I'm forbidding myself to start on it until after I've finished the one that's currently hanging over the back of a chair. I'm so great at starting things, but horrible at finishing them! So at least I'm exercising SOME self-discipline, hehe...

Hmmm...I'm being inspired by some creative impulses now. Maybe I should go follow said impulses while they're still around. Goodness knows it'll give me something to do, at least! If anybody feels like doing anything (*pokes Tiff*), feel free to call me! ;)

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!