Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: The best suggestion EVER!
Written on Monday, Jul. 07, 2003 at 8:31 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

I want every spam sender to, at this very moment, run headlong--at full speed--into a brick wall. No slowing down before impact, and no wearing a helmet (hey, here in Pennsylvania it's optional now anyway!). Just lower your head and RUN. You can't imagine how ecstatic you would make the world. I, personally, would make a little graphic to put on my page for at LEAST a few minutes, just to express my gratitude.

Today there came a call from some AAA credit card. The woman asked for Mom, and I said that she wasn't home. "Well, I'm glad I have you on the line," the woman continued, and was JUST starting her spiel when I promptly hung up on her. After that, I flopped back into bed and wondered how I could have ever been UNable to hang up on those folks. It's really quite easy. I used to feel bad for them, but that was before the calls started happening to me.

Tim called me today, too. Ah, yes, it was a nice...*counts*...5 or 6 days without getting a call from him (he was on a mini vacation), but today he was back at work and decided to grace me with his presence (on the phone, at least). And he got me angry at him within the first 5 seconds of the conversation, too! That's got to be a record. Thankfully, after vehemently expressing my anger, and telling him that he was 5 seconds away from me hanging up on him, things calmed down and I was actually enjoying the conversation by the end.

Before I got to know him so well, I used to love Tim. Well, not in the same way as Geoff, of course, but in a friendly sort of way. Now, I still like him, but I'd prefer to keep him out at arms' length. He's astoundingly insensitive on so many things, and while I know he cares about me and all, he really just doesn't understand me. I get the impression sometimes that the only things he's interested in are sex and alcohol, but I'm sure it's unfair of me to make such a judgment. I still don't know him THAT well yet! Still--and maybe this is because I've never tried talking to him about these things--he doesn't have Geoff's interest in deeper topics. With Tim, I feel as though all our conversations are very superficial. We talk about what's happened to him since the last time we talked, what's happened with me, but never anything deeper than that. That's not to say that Geoff and I always talk about meaningful things, but when we do the conversations are usually pretty involved.

I've found my partner for going to the National Constitution Center, by the way. *chuckles* After mentioning to Geoff that it had opened and I wanted to go for some reason, he replied that he was interested in going, too. Not that I know whether we'll actually go, but I was surprised to find someone else who was at least interested! Visiting a building dedicated solely to teaching the Constitution probably doesn't register very high on most people's to-do lists. ;)

After folding the laundry last night, Mom started laughing at me. I'm just two pairs short of having a 3-week supply of underwear. (And yes, you're welcome for sharing.) I used to have the opposite problem, somehow losing pairs, but after discovering that American Eagle has got cute pairs that FIT (and then getting those Seven Dwarfs ones at DW), I seem to have unquestionably expanded my stock. But hey. I think we can all agree that it's better to have a lot than to not have enough, right?

Pennsylvania, over the course of the past week, has become a forested land of heat and humidity. I wonder if it's not bad karma coming back to me after complaining so bitterly about Florida's sticky weather. :P Geoff said he's moving to Canada during the summer, and I'm allowed to go with him. 'Course, judging by what Marn says in her diary on occasion, it's just as icky up there as it is here during the summer. So I guess we'd have to go a bit farther north. I'm not asking for frosty temperatures; I'd just like something in a nice temperate range. It went from like 66 degrees to 99 without ever pausing somewhere nice like 75. There's something seriously wrong with that.

The mosquitos (mosquitoes? I have Dan Quayle syndrome) were out en masse last night, thinking they could come after me. I showed them. After every one that I killed, I had the childish urge to stick my tongue out at them, maybe adding a "nyah nyah!" to it as well. There were a couple in the apartment, and as I looked at them standing on the wall, I thought, "What if THAT ONE has West Nile?" *SWAT* Don't get me wrong, I'm not living my life in paranoia that I'll be struck dead by the various illnesses and diseases floating around. But it never hurt anyone to be cautious. ;) And besides, who wants those nasty little pests buzzing inside your house, nipping at you like you're a free buffet?

I still haven't got that skirt hemmed. It's out in the dining area, its raw edges just begging me to finish stitching, but until I can get Mom to stand in one place long enough to try it on so I can measure it, I'm just going to have to leave it there.

On a random note, about a week ago there was this silly show on TV talking about how Britney Spears can do her wardrobe-shopping "without even being in the store" because she has henchmen to do it for her, and how she's got all these fancy cars and likes to have this food and that backstage at concerts...and the only thing I could think was "WHO CARES???" What, because she's famous, that somehow makes her important enough that I want to know exactly what she eats and exactly how much more money she has than the rest of the world? Believe me, I couldn't care less about the daily life of a celebrity, just as they couldn't care less about mine. It's pretty pathetic how superficial things can get sometimes. Now, if she was close to finding a cure for some terminal illness, then maybe I'd be interested in hearing about her. But for goodness' sake, find something more worthwhile to use up airwaves in the meantime! X_X

Now that I've done my daily rant, I'm going to go see what else there is to do around here. For those of you who haven't seen it yet, why not check out onthehour.diaryland.com? I just came across it last night and thought it was a neat idea...but I'd rather have a good digital camera for it, instead of using actual film. :P

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!