Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Got mah book (no spoilers!)
Written on Saturday, Jun. 21, 2003 at 9:01 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Ooo, I'm going to have to stop reading diaries, just in case my little eyes accidentally read something they're not supposed to!! It killed me to have to click away Emilily's diary without finishing the entry, but even though she was marvelous with the spoiler warning, I had to immediately turn it off. Y'know how recovered alcoholics aren't allowed to touch alcohol (I heard they can't even use mouthwash)? Well, I used to be one of those people who absolutely COULD NOT resist looking at the end of the book. I had to force myself to keep from doing it, and so I can't tempt myself by seeing anything vaguely spoiler-esque, because I'm afraid it'll revert me back to my old habits. If that made sense. :P

Mom had to work overnight, and I asked her to stop by McDonald's and get one of those new breakfast sandwiches for me on her way back home. Don't wrinkle your nose at me, people: I couldn't help being overwhelmed with curiosity! At any rate, she woke me up just a little bit before 7 o'clock with breakfast. I like to say that I don't anticipate ever ordering one of those things again. It's not that it was completely terrible, but it wasn't what I thought it was going to be. At least I got to try it, though. Hehe...

I went back to bed about an hour after that. I shouldn't have, but I was tired and it was still early-ish, so I did. Around 9:30-ish I woke up, having sworn that the doorbell just rang. I really don't know how I could have heard it, since my room isn't near the front door, but the strangest things can wake me up. Anyway, I opened my door and asked Mom if it really HAD been the doorbell, but she said, "Yeah, but I think it was our neighbors and I didn't feel like answering it." So THAT'S where my antisocial tendencies come from! ;) I slowly began to close the door, but then I opened it again and said, "I think it might have been the UPS man with my book."

A thoughtful pause, and then Mom said, "UPS doesn't run on Saturdays." So I went back to bed.

Not sure how much later it was, but my door opened and Mom came in with a box. "It was your book," she said, handing it over to me. I think I might have grinned and said, "See? I tooold ya!" but I don't remember. :P At any rate, I've now got the latest HP book, wheeee! I'm only on page 100 or so...but don't worry, folks. No spoilers will be found in here! You're all safe!

Some people have finished the entire book already. I know I shouldn't be surprised, but at the same time I am, hehe! There's a big part of me that wants to just sit down and read the whole thing all at once, but at the same time...We've been waiting what? Three years for this book? I don't want to just rush through it, because then I'd be left going, "Hmm, what now?" It's like prom night or something (for those who actually enjoy those things). You spend the most insane amount of time waiting for it, and then all that day primping and getting ready...and then it's all over in a matter of a few short hours. And then there's that sort of void afterward, like, "All the fun has ended! Now what am I going to do?"

Y'know what? Just forget my analogies. I keep realizing AFTER I've written them that they don't really make much sense. >_<

Tim called this afternoon before going to work. He took the phone into the shower with him. He told me he's done it before (confusing the heck out of Geoff), but it was a new experience for me. :P At any rate, he was telling me about how it was his oldest son's birthday today, and so during the day they went out for a little while. I guess Tyler had asked Tim if he could get the "Parental Advisory" version of this one Eminem CD, and Tim said yes. To be honest, I don't think Tim was aware of exactly WHY those advisories are put on CDs. He found out, however. Tyler popped the CD into the car stereo, and...yeah. I think his mother was there as well, because they both ended up grounding Tyler. On his birthday. Ouch.

I had to bite back a gentle reproach of "Welll, you were the one who told him he could have it, Tim." It did seem kinda unfair for Tim to punish his kid when he gave permission to buy that CD, after all! But I'm not a parent, so I'm not getting involved, hehe...

Tim let me listen to a wee bit of it, however, just to prove how bad it was. Oh my goodness, I wouldn't let my DOG listen to that! It's not me being prudish, either. I can certainly handle some outrageous stuff, but that was just pathetic. No wonder Eminem gets so much criticism! I especially like how he put in the little things about "If you don't like this album, then [insert any number of disgusting things here]." Real smooooth there, buddy. It's like someone making a bunch of biased comments and then finishing up with, "And if you don't agree with me, then f* you because you don't know what you're talking about anyway!"

Male dogs become less violent and territorial when they're neutered. Do you think the same thing would happen to human males? I don't want EVERY man on the planet to suffer such a fate, but there are a certain few who would provide very good experiments....

That ear flushing I got yesterday has given me a mild case of swimmer's ear. Does anyone know how to go about getting that water out? I know there isn't a lot in there, but it's enough to be irritating! I keep trying to shake my head to one side, but all that's accomplishing is killing brain cells, heehee...

Anyway, I think I might just go and read more of that book. I can't help myself! It's such a tempting little morsel of literary goodness!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!