Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Lucky you!
Written on Friday, Jun. 20, 2003 at 5:28 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Two notes that are actually interrelated: One, Geoff called because Mom had called their house...but didn't leave a message. So here I was getting all thrilled because I thought he'd called spontaneously...but as Mom pointed out, he didn't have to call back. Goodness knows he doesn't always return my calls! And 3 1/2 hours...Yeah, I won't complain so much about the fact that it wasn't a spontaneous call. ;)

The second related note: remember yesterday when I thought Mom was calling Adrienne after pretending to have called her on the cell phone? Umm...well, I'm not always this bright, clever girl you see before you. I, um...sorta jumped to conclusions on that one, 'cause it turned out that THAT was when she'd called Geoff. But she didn't want to let me know unless she'd gotten hold of him. I do believe this story, hehehe...By the way, just in case anyone's wondering, she'll randomly dial up his number from time to time if she sees me looking particularly bored or depressed. Nothin' makes for a Happy Berry like some quality time with G-Off. ;)

Alright, now we can go on to today. I went to the doctor. Yay! And, to celebrate the occasion, I wore a pair of my Seven Dwarfs underwear for the first time today. Appropriately enough, I picked "Doc". Hehehe...Hey, it was just for fun! Not that it mattered, since I wouldn't be showing them to anybody (thank goodness!), but I knew I was being clever, so that's all that counted.

On a side note, Keith was wearing a pair of jeans the other night that, when unzipped, exposed this message on the side that read "Lucky You." He had all the people on our half of the table craning our necks to see this message...Well, he asked grandmotherly old Toni to look first, just to get a reaction from her. Discovering that she'd have to read something, she said, "Wait, let me get my glasses," but I cracked up over the remark, thinking it made for a great insult to the size of his package. ;) It was the funniest thing I'd ever seen, jeans with a message on the fly, but at the same time I think the only guys who ever buy those are guys who don't get any. Why else would he be showing it off to everyone? Bwe he he...I'm sure it looked really wholesome to the rest of the folks in the restaurant, seeing all of us leaning over to look at some guy's nether region.

Now where was I before...oh yes! Doctor's appointment. My physical form is filled out again, and I can hear out of my left ear! Yay! Turns out, it was a lot of wax. The doctor was like, "Have you ever had your ears flushed before?" He was looking at me in this furtive sort of way, as though expecting me to suddenly panic and freak out. He's used to me doing this; I'm surprised he even still tolerates me, considering the horrible way I've treated him in my younger days! Anyway, he left the room and then came back in with this big metal syringe-looking thing, a small thingy of water, and a plastic bowl that was curved to go under the ear. I had to hold that underneath my ear while he took this syringe (which probably had a 2- or 3-inch diameter...it was a little frightening) and proceeded to force water into my ear. The first time he tried it, all it accomplished was trapping water in my ear. But when he tried it again, it all came out.

"Look in there and see what came out," he said, and I reluctantly did so. Ugh, it was so GROSS! He made fun of me when I said as much, and I exclaimed, "I don't know how you can do it! If I had to look at stuff like that all the time, I'd just be like, 'Oh man, that is so gross!'" I really don't know how people can be doctors. Looking at blood would make me squeamish, and gross stuff like ear wax and other bodily fluids...no, I just couldn't do it. X_X But at least I can hear now! I was really dizzy at first, but now it just feels a little weird. I can hear my feet pounding as they hit the ground. I'm not sure if that's entirely good, but he looked in my ear after he did it and said everything looked fine, so I guess he'd know if something was wrong!

The only bad part of the appointment? They weighed me. *leans forward and whispers* The scale told me I weigh 222 pounds! How can this be? I know I'm constantly calling myself fat, but I really DON'T look like I'm that heavy. Pudgy, yes. But I don't have that much excess flesh! :P My mom was like, "Well, you were wearing extra clothing today, too." I had on a big Clarion sweatshirt..that was all that constituted 'extra clothing'. "Oh yeah, so without it I'd be like, what...two hundred and FIFTEEN pounds." Scales are the most evil objects on the face of this planet. I'm going to play like the Lost Boys in "Hook" and only eat imaginary food from now on.

There was this little furry rodent creature in the stairwell today. We think he fell in from the big open window-ish thing (it's just a big square hole in the wall that leads out to the ivy-covered hill/moat). As for what sort of rodent it was, however, we weren't sure. He had a dark brown, ticked coat ('ticked' as in color-ticked, not parasite-ticked, hehe), these itty wee eyes, and a very short tail. It was maybe an inch long, if that. It almost looked like a mouse, but it didn't have a long body. Whatever it was, though, it was CUTE! I just wanted to pick it up and smother it with little kisses, but even if it didn't bite, it was probably carrying bubonic plague or something. So after the doctor's appointment, we saw that it was still there and I coerced Mom into helping me chase it into a box so we could release it out on the back lawn. We kept him in the box for a little while, letting him binge on seeds, but then I tipped the box over and let him go. Awww, I'll miss that little guy.

I'm insanely tired, having only slept for about 2 hours (I was plagued by certain images evoked by last night's phone conversation, hehe). But I want to wait until 8 o'clock before I go to bed, so that I'll sleep through the night. Ugh, 2 and a half hours left to go!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!