Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Proof that I'm abnormal.
Written on Friday, Jun. 20, 2003 at 3:28 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

I would just like to give proof of the fact that I was not bequeathed the normal female genes. No, I'm not saying that I have strange disfigurations or abnormal body parts. I'm talking something much more overlooked by today's society.

Reading through a magazine and seeing tons of ads with clothes does nothing for me. I don't get that tingly "Must....shop!" feeling, and only occasionally do I even pause to look at the outfits (which are always too expensive for my budget anyway).

Seeing one ad for a new type of pen, however, sets me all aquiver with longing. How on earth does anyone expect me to get through life without a pen whose ink starts off clear but somehow "flows to color" as you write??? The next time I'm out, I must find this stationery marvel!

One other example:

Have US folks seen the Circuit City ads? Y'know, wife and husband go into Circuit City, wife forbids husband to stray from her side because she may never drag him out of the store again?

They need a commercial where the husband has to physically restrain his wife from running off and giggling with unrestrained joy as she dances from department to department. If I actually looked older than a 17-year old, I would demand that I be cast as the role of said wife...because the only thing that excites me more than stationery is some funky bit of electronic gadgetry. I know, for all my talk of simpler times, I simply can't get enough of technology. I think it's because I have enough sense not to let it rule me. Yes, I sometimes slip when it comes to the Internet (how could I NOT love it when I have such wonderful friends?), but as far as cell phones and such go...I simultaneously want to laugh and smack people who whine tragically, "Cell phones are great, but no matter where I go now, people can find me!" Do they know that there's a power switch on their cellular telephone? You don't want people to find you? TURN THE THING OFF!

This is why I have such a guilt-free relationship with my electronics. *pats her laptop fondly*

I will make no excuses for my love of stationery, however. I am a slave to the colored pen. It's almost scandalous how in love I am with the college-ruled notebook paper. Office supplies stores are like my equivalent to the adult video stores...and they're better than electronics stores because I can afford their products.

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!