Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Back from Disney!
Written on Sunday, Jun. 08, 2003 at 4:01 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Je suis si fatigu�e!

It's only been a week, and yet I'm having troubles typing. :P Then again, it could be because I'm so wretchedly tired...But I would have stayed awake, just tossing and turning, if I hadn't signed on and cleared out all this email! 'Course, 99% of it all was junk, but I got 2 from Geoff, one from mah roomie, and a bunch from that trivia thingy I'm subscribed to. Got a bunch from Frank, too, but I always delete those now. I told him once that I was tired of those repeat FWD emails, and to stop sending them to me...yet he keeps sending them my way! Urgh.

Oh! But anyway, yes, I'm back from Disney World (obviously). ;) We got back around 9-something at night, and I transferred my "movie" (entitled "Amber's Disney Adventure") to a blank video cassette...after making some closing credits for it. :P I'd been envisioning this thing to be much more interesting than it turned out, but it had one or two amusing moments. Every time we traveled somewhere, I put on that one song from "Monty Python and the Holy Grail"...y'know the one that plays when King Arthur is going to different places? Hehehe...it's sorta funny. In a stupid way.

I got my picture taken with Gary Puckett and the lead singer (Carl?) from The Buckinghams...and I was having dreamy little fantasies about meeting John Sebastian, when The Lovin' Spoonful rolled through Disney...but guess what??? The man's not even IN that band anymore!!! I got my seat an hour early just so that I'd be in a prime location, and I was waiting with quivering anticipation for all the band members to come out on stage. But there was no John. Instead there was some guy whose voice was just awful. Y'know how John's voice is sort of mellow? This guy's voice wasn't. I guess it's kind of hard to keep that kind of voice as you age, but still. It wasn't John, and I wanted to weep.

Instead, I bought some tree seeds. :P

I'm not sure what it is, but recently I have just gone plant crazy. I don't have anything more than Rico and Daisy, but during my trip I bought some bamboo from the Japanese store. Bought 3 little stalks because one of them is going to be a present for Kristen when we get back to college (she really wanted a bamboo plant last semester), but still, the thought of having more little house plants nearly sends me into raptures! The other day I sat in my room at the condo and dreamed up my future garden. I think I'd like to have a daffodil meadow, like Marn...it just sounds so wild (as in feral, not 'wild and crazy'), so different from your typical bordered gardens. I also want lilac bushes and roses...

Oh. My. Goodness. From late May to early June, Epcot does this huge flower expo sort of thing. It's really amazing, the sorts of things they do. They sell lots of flowers and plants and things, but the absolute best part of it all was the Rose Walk. It was just this meandering little sidewalk, but on either side were rosebushes. Tons of different varieties, with different colors...and the perfume! Had it not been for the 90-degree, 80+ percent humidity, I could have sat myself down somewhere along that path and just died happily. I never saw--or smelled--anything so exquisitely beautiful. One rose in particular endeared itself so firmly to me that I wanted to find out if they sold it anywhere. Unfortunately, I can't really remember the name anymore (it was named after some guy...I think his first name was Edward), but these roses were the best out of them all. They're a hybrid, according to the sign that had been posted below them, and were bred for hardiness and scent. And they smelled divine. Their petals were this perfect, delicate creamy pink...lighter than the pink roses you typically see in florist's shops. I couldn't help likening the color to someone's flawless skin, it was so lovely. Mom picked this small bud for me one night as we were hastening out of the park, and when I got home I put it in a small shot glass. Had we not left a few days later, that little bud would still be just as fresh in appearance now as it had been when it was still on the plant. Most roses would have wilted by then. For some really strange reason, I nearly wanted to weep when I had to take the water away from my little rose. I still have it, too! >_< I'm going to press it and put it in my scrapbook.

Geoffrey, when I called him on Thursday night, told me to call him when I got home again. He's off on Sunday (which is today, technically), and I was really hoping maybe we'd be able to do something. But I got home a lot later than I thought I would (our plane was delayed), and nobody answered when I called. : Oh well.

I don't know if I wrote about this, but a couple of weeks ago I wrote a letter to Kevin...only because I'd found my fountain pen and wax, and knew that he'd be the only one who'd really appreciate it, hehe :P As I was writing, I was suddenly overcome with creativity and so I pretended that my name was Cecilia and I was writing to my dear brother Edmund, who had moved out to London. My tyrannical father had decided to marry me off to the odious Lord Haverly, whose third wife had only died a month previous. It was a sorrowful note that I wrote to Edmund, and a desperate one, too...I begged him to think of a way for me to get out of the marriage, hehe! :P Anyway, I was half afraid to see what Kevin's response would be, in case he thought I'd gotten a little too carried away with myself. But when I got home I saw a letter waiting for me, and inside the envelope were two thick parchment-like sheets filled with advice from Edmund! *laughs* On the back of the second sheet Kevin was like, "This is fun!" and said that this would be a cool way to pass the summer. So now I'm going to have to think up more for Cecilia to do! Ah well, it'll be interesting, to say the least!

hippies
You are a Hippie. Wow.

What kind of Sixties Person are you?
brought to you by Quizilla

And no, I wasn't trying to get that answer, lol! I'm tellin' ya, it was just meant to be. And that reminds me: my Birkenstocks have arrived! I can't wait to go pick them up!

This is going to sound so mean of me to say, but I've gotten so irritated with Mom this past week. It's not that I don't like her anymore, but it's just gotten to the point where I don't like to be around her as much! Her indecisiveness, and the occasional nagging...I know I'm still her daughter, and she still has a right (within reason) to tell me what to do, but...ugh! I talked about it with Geoff the other night, and he laughed and said that he'd been ready to get away from his mother at 13! But then he observed that the reason it's probably taken me so long to reach that point (this was after I mocked myself for taking so long) is because Mom's such a friendly sort of person. She's not like your average mother; my friends when I was younger used to love her because, as one of them stated, she was "a teenager trapped in an adult's body". Yes, she's done the usual mothering stuff, but she's always been so much like a friend that I never EVER thought I'd want to just get away from her. But as Geoff and I were discussing, there comes to a point where you just have to get away, and then come back occasionally as friends...or however he put it. *chuckles* I don't want to leave permanently at this point...but I definitely need to get away again!

She and I did have a neat conversation last night before we went our separate ways for bed. I'd been thinking about various guy-related things, and she started telling me stories of the guys she'd dated when she was younger. I like hearing stories about her youth, because it was so completely DIFFERENT from most parents' lives. Well, most parents of kids my age, anyway. :P But last night, at one point, I just laughed wonderingly and leaned my head against the doorjamb. I can't imagine what it would be like to have so many stories of boyfriends and relationships! Mom can recount so many, and I've got one...which really only lasted a week and was so unlike any real relationship that I've started to hardly even count it as one! I can't help thinking that maybe the reason I haven't had any relationships is because I'll get to be one of those lucky sorts who gets swept into this perfect whirlwind romance.

He'd just better like plants and animals, that's all I can say.

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!