Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Sunburn
Written on Sunday, Jun. 08, 2003 at 11:02 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

My sunburn itches.

'Course, I shouldn't even have a sunburn because for years now I've been against the idea of sunbathing. But unfortunately, my fear of getting skin cancer has warred with my desire to have skin a few shades darker than that of Frosty the Snowman. I've never wanted to be dark--I think girls who bake themselves 'til they're dark brown are disgusting and tacky--but I think a very light tan is pretty. Fair skin, like mine, can be pretty too...but I'm just tired of being fair all the time. So yesterday morning I put on my bathing suit (for the first time since visiting Lola in Arizona last year) and went out to one of the pools to sunbathe for a short while. This particular place has 3 pools--one main pool and then two off-to-the-side ones--and I went to the one that was almost literally right next to our condo. It was just a little after 9:30 in the morning, and not a single soul was there. However--and I'm not at all kidding or exaggerating--people follow my mother and I. I can't even explain it. In the store, there could be this out-of-the-way aisle that's been empty for a really long time...and yet the moment I step into it, at LEAST five people crowd into it. So around 10 o'clock, a young boy and girl came into this pool area. And then came their mother and an even younger girl. And then their grandfather. And then their aunt and a cousin or two. And then the grandmother. I was waiting for even more family members to come crawling out of the woodwork and fill up this small area. And the odd part is, the two out-of-the-way pools almost NEVER get people in them. The main pool by the clubhouse is the one that always gets packed, but there were only one or two times during the entire week of my vacation that anyone ever went to this pool by my condo. And yet the day that I go out there to have a little peace, I get a huge, loud, splashy FAMILY crowding around me.

At least they didn't park their stuff in the chairs right beside me. THAT would have annoyed me. But they put all their stuff on the other side of the pool. So I pretended they weren't there.

I left at 11 o'clock and Mom and I started off for the airport. As of right now, my arms, chest, and back are pink, but they're already fading. It wasn't a bad sunburn at all, but it's still itching like crazy! My cheeks are only a little pink, and I was hoping most of all that my face would get some color to it. I can stand having fair skin everywhere else, but I'd really love to have some color to my face. It usually looks so pale and...ugh.

Ah well. :P

Tim called me today just a couple minutes before 5...and we talked until 10 o'clock. X_X Well actually, I think he was just about to say goodbye when Geoff came home (this was a couple of hours after he first called), but then Geoff got on the phone as well and so we were all talking. Tim asked (when we first started talking) if we were all going to the Jethro Tull concert, and I replied that I honestly wasn't sure...because it's the day of Geoff's birthday, blah blah...So Tim informed me that I'd have to do the planning this time...and proceeded to bring up that time when he and Geoff had planned to take me back to college but I "stood them up". He didn't get the hint that that's a really tender subject with me. But thankfully he didn't keep at it for TOO long. Otherwise, I probably would have just given a curt "I have to go" and hung up on him. That wouldn't have been good.

Y'know, I really ought to just go ahead and plan all that. Geoff was the one that had mentioned the concert to Tim, which is why I think they're both willing to go. If I had a job and money, I wouldn't really even bat an eye at ordering the tickets and such. But I'm poor. Still, I don't want to put all the financial responsibility on them, because that would be selfish. I dunno.

I think I'm gonna go for now, though, because I have nothing else to say!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!