Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: No boy, don't speak now
Written on Tuesday, May. 27, 2003 at 2:09 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

After this entry, I will be about 11 away from the big 8-0-0.

Now, to those of you who have been diarying for ages, 800 is just a baby number. But for me, it's almost like a milestone! Only 200 away from 1000 (yes, I really AM that good at math)! I should get a cake for this, at least.

Actually, wait 'til June 3rd for the cake, because that's the 2-year anniversary of this little space. Wow...Imagine me sticking with something for 2 years! :P If you do send me a cake, however, I won't be here to receive it. I'll be in Florida taking pictures with Mickey Mouse. Hehehe...

The phone woke me up today at the unholy hour of 12:55 today. Can you imagine someone calling that EARLY?? (Hee hee) I almost picked up the phone in my room, but then realized that it might be someone I have no interest in making small-talk with...and so I dashed out to the kitchen (nearly breaking my neck in the process, as these wood floors are slippery). Turned out, it was Tim. Things were going well until he turned to the dreaded subject: "Why don't you have your license yet??"

Pan to Amber, whose eyes have begun to narrow dangerously.

After spending years listening to grocery store gossips squawking that very same line, it's gotten to the point where I don't want to hear it at ALL. You could be my very best friend in the world, and we could be having the time of our lives...but the very moment that question comes to your lips, it will take all of my willpower to keep from lunging at you like a screaming wildcat. The only people who asked me at first were people who only wanted to start trouble, so maybe that's why I have such an aversion to the question.

Or maybe I'm just sick of people sticking their noses into my business. I never usually think about the fact that I can't legally drive. Without a car, why should I care? It's not like I could get around anyway. And yeah, I tend to feel really guilty when Geoff drives all the way up here just to get me, but if he minded THAT much he wouldn't do it, would he?

So anyway, I forget exactly what I said to Tim, but it was something that clearly said "Danger Zone: Go No Farther". Well. Like any father, he read that message clearly but decided to continue. I'm pretty sure I might have growled at some point...and not in the turned-on, "GrrOWl" sort of way, either.

At one point, he made me feel a little guilty for getting mad at him because when I ranted about how just about EVERY person at the store used to ask me that and I was SICK of it, he replied: "Well, I'm just looking out for you..." and some other stuff that I forget now. The difference between Tim and those other grocery store people is that I know he really does want to look out for me. It's not some kind of superficial thing; he actually cares about me. So I didn't feel as much like a threatened, cornered animal after that. More like a cornered animal whose attacker is holding out food as a peace offering. ;)

Tim says he's going to come up here on Friday and take me out to get my permit. I informed him that would be a little hard to do, considering I needed a physical form filled out and I'd lost the other one. Tim replied that he would stop by the DMV, pick up one of those booklets, and drop it off at the store for Mom on his way to work. I still don't believe he'll do it--I don't WANT him to do it--but if Mom comes home with a DMV book, I'll know that I'd better wake up early on Friday. X_X

Jam told me the other night that a few lines of a certain Bic Runga song reminded her of me and Geoff, so I downloaded said song. And I love it now! Admittedly, the very first time I heard it I wasn't so sure I'd like it, but then I read the lyrics (because I couldn't understand what she was singing before, lol) and I suddenly fell in love with the song. Half the time when Geoff and I go out driving, the skies are all gray, so yeah...this song reminds me of us, too. *chuckles*

Once Mom gets home, we're going out to this store nearby to find Birkenstocks for me. I'm thrilled. I tossed those wretched Walmart knock-offs when I was packing to leave Clarion, because all they ever did was tear into the sides of my feet. Mom tried to say that they just needed to be broken in, but I still have a scar on both of my feet from those things. I'm not willing to "break them in". If anything, they'd end up breaking me in. So yeah, we're gonna go get some Birkenstocks, and I'm happy as can be about it! ^_^ And that's all I have to say for now. :P

I know it's late now I know I ought to go
Ride in your car now but please don't drop me home
My head's so heavy, could this be all a dream?
Promise me maybes and say things you don't mean
Rain fall from concrete coloured sky
No boy, don't speak now you just
Drive, drive, drive
Take me through make me feel alive, alive
When I ride with you

Keep my heart turning on axles around you
Keep our love burning just like it used to do
Now just for us, they could play our favourite tune
Let's not discuss all these things we can't undo
Let

Rain fall from concrete coloured sky
No boy, don't speak now you just
Drive, drive, drive
Take me through make me feel alive, alive
When I ride with you

Rain fall from concrete coloured sky
No boy, don't speak now you just drive

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!