Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Grades
Written on Saturday, May. 24, 2003 at 2:12 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Grades finally came out today (or yesterday...but I'm pretending it's still 'today'). The email I received a couple days ago said that they'd be out "after 4 o'clock on Friday", so I forced myself to wait until 4:30, figuring that they wouldn't be out exactly at 4 o'clock. I very nearly turned my computer on at 4:27, thinking "Well, it's close enough to 4:30!" But I didn't. I just laid there and read Anne of Avonlea for a little while longer, until it was finally 4:33.

"Patience is a virtue," I murmured to myself, climbing off my bed. "Let's just hope I get rewarded for it!"

The ethernet at Clarion might not have been the fastest in the history of ethernets, but it's a LOT faster than a dialup connection. I sat here for what felt like ages, getting first to the login page, then waiting for the next page to load, and THEN waiting for the grades pages to show up. When I finally hit 'OK' for '2003 Spring', I sat tensely on my chair and waited. I pretty much knew I'd be getting A's for most of my classes, but Humanities was a complete mystery to me. I figured that getting a B would be good, considering I rarely showed up for class toward the end of the semester and I never read the material we were supposed to read (excepting that very last section). I'd honestly been afraid that I would see a C or a D next to Humanities II. But guess what?

I got all A's.

I got straight A's.

Excited beyond belief, I scrambled out of my room and to the back porch, where Mom was sitting. After I told her what my grades were, I just burst into tears. A quick fit of tears, but tears nonetheless.

I have never gotten straight A's in my LIFE before. Whereas some people (such as my roommate) take something like that for granted because that's all they ever get, seeing a 4.0 average was about the most amazing thing that's ever happened to me. I've finally proven to myself that I can do it. I'm not quite so dumb as I'd always led myself to believe. 'Course, I didn't really deserve that A in Humanities, but somehow I pulled it off and I'm certainly not going to complain!

This won't happen again next semester, I know that much. I'm signed up for Excursions Math, which is supposed to be the easiest of all the maths offered. But math in any form is anathema to me, so I'm quite sure I won't do too terribly well in it. I guess I'll have to actually WORK at it this time, LOL! The worst part, though, is that the harder something is, the less I want to go. I'll have to force myself not to skip those classes, much as I know I'll want to.

Anyway...

My dear Geoffrey called me today a little after 4 o'clock, but the end of THAT conversation was that he'd call back later because Mom was fixing dinner and I wasn't sure how long that'd take. I told him I was willing to skip it, since she was making lasagna and I knew there'd be plenty of it tomorrow anyway, but he seemed adamant that I stay there and eat it. :P When he called back (this time after 6), I found out from the caller ID that he'd called both times from his mother's house. I know it's going to sound silly, but to me it kinda meant something that he'd been calling from someone else's house--and his mother's, at that. His brother John lives there as well, and I can just imagine how he'd react at hearing about Geoff calling some girl. Then again...I've never met John so I could be completely wrong. It just seems like the brotherly thing to do, teasing younger siblings... :P

We didn't end up doing a single thing. Well, he drove up here and all, but we just hung out in the apartment. At first we were sitting there talking, but then he got up and started watching my gerbils. He was having fun trying to get them to crawl through cardboard tubes and such, hehe...it was cute. I forget exactly what I said at one point, but it was something that implied my fear of him being bored, just watching gerbils (all this was wrapped in a cleverly teasing tone, ha ha). His response: "Well, I never had any pets..." which, in keeping with my sappiness, was cute. ;)

He left a little after midnight, but I think he's going to call me again tomorrow. ^_^ This week has been so lovely, getting to spend so much time with him! And even sleeping over, though I spent it on the couch (heehee) was enjoyable! I wonder what caused that panic of mine back during Easter break, when I find so much enjoyment in just spending time with him. 'Course, I wouldn't mind spending it more like I did Tuesday night, but I'll get to that point again, hehe...

The couch, where he sat, still smelled like him, and I just curled up there for a few minutes before finally coming back to my bedroom. I really am becoming pathetic.

No comments from the peanut gallery. ;)

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!